.d configuration?

Does Luci support LINUX style .d configuration directories? If it did, site specific changes could be concentrated, and classified in .d directories and there would be a better chance that changes would not make necessary changes from different issues in the same file, and also it would limit the necessity of changes to the main configuration files with an upstream upgrade! I believe the main configuration should include the (by default empty) .d directories by default, so that site specific changes could be made without modifying the upstream configuration files. I am not an expert, so there is probably something wrong with this simple minded idea? :slight_smile: What do you think?

I suppose if the .d directories are not supported, one should do a backup to a local site maintainers directory which is served by .git. Then after every upgrade, a 3 way merge could be done to find the best compromise between the changes, then a restore could be done. Perhaps this is a better way. Do all openwrt site maintainers know .git? Thank You.

Which of main configurations need additional .d directory? Whats the percentage of routers having space and ram to run git?

I am not sure. That is why I asked the Question.

Openwrt is requiring a huge amount of memory and file space these days. But I think router space for router specific tasks, not maintainer convenience. That is why I am suggesting that the .git stuff be done on some non-router computer. With input data coming from backup and output with restore. If .git were put into openwrt, it would have to be maintained. I can think about better uses for openwrt maintainers' time. .git must exist on the various platform distros, so there is no extra work needed there.