Creating a kind of captive portal for VR trainings purpose

Hey OpenWrt community !
I was wondering if this alternative firmware could be used to create a kind of captive portal.

Basically, I need to create on a nano router (TL-WR902AC v3) an open 5ghz WiFi (local network, no WAN) that automaticly redirect the user to a local webserveur running on a specific android device.

I didn't tried to install OpenWrt yet and only been through a few topics on captive portals so i'm a noob.

The final usecase : We plan to deploy 20 routers with VR autonomous HMDs (Oculus Quest) to provide some teachers a full immersive kit, with screen mirroring, remote access...

I'm not sure this is possible with routing tables of stock TP Link firmware...

Regards !

There are some captive portals available.
However I am not sure how will it help in your scenario.

2 Likes

Tbh I'm having troubles with imaging what you're trying to accomplish here. Like deploying 20 access points in 20 classrooms? What is the relation to screen mirroring and remote access with a standalone HMD? Webserver on a Android device?

I and others here might give you some general advice if you can tell us more detailed want you want to achieve. But since you're deploying in a professional setting, I would really recommend hiring a IT consultant to spare yourself and your teachers a big headache. A big headache during deployment and after deployment.

Edit: And welcome to the forums! Don't take my post as discouraging, innovative ideas to improve education are always great (especially during the COVID-19 pandemic). Captive portals with OpenWRT are definitely possible. However, it's most likely OpenWRT isn't part of your solution here.

2 Likes

Hello Trendy and Vuhuy !

First, many thanks for your time and informations.
I saw these captive portals, that's how I thought this could be the solution (to avoid big Cisco routers).