Connectivity issues because of too many DHCP leases?

Hi,
I'm operating 2 TP-Link Archer C6 V2 with Openwrt. 1 of them is a dumb AP. I switched to this setup in the first place because the router of my ISP couldn't handle to much connected devices via WiFi. It is now in bridge mode and this setup has been working well so far.

Now that more devices are being added to the network the connectivity got unreliable. Only a restart helps and I'm suspecting that the Archers cannot handle the amount of active DCHP leases.

Could this be the reason? What can I try?

I'm a beginner and don't know too much about this topic. Please bear with me and I kindly ask you to explain things to me as simple as possible. Like to a toddler or something :smiley:

Appreciate your help!
Thank you!

How many are many ?

1 Like

Counting 16 leases but that can't be too much can it?
Is there any way to find out what is causing these network connection errors?

16 isn't a lot.

Does the connection to internet die completely, or just for the wireless devices?

Which openwrt version are you using?

If I remember right dnsmasq can handle 100 or 150leases, not sure if it was 100 or 150 but from 16 the system have a lot more room left before being full.

dnsmasq surely can handle more than that it is just a question of memory. So to avoid DoS attacks the default is 150.

Thank you for all the replies.

I don't think it dies because wired devices are fine. I can see on one of my smart devices and on one of my phones that there are disconnections logged regularly. First I thought these are downtimes of my ISP but I'm doubting it because the WiFi connection problems are throughout the day. Lan connections are staying online all the time.

This is a known problem with the ath10k-ct wireless drivers that are optimised for devices with limited resources and only support a small number of station connections.
The answer is to remove all the ath10-ct packages and replace with the non-ct versions.