Connecting two routers using powerline one with openwrt and the other not

Hi Guys..

I am new with this beautiful openwrt system and i just installed the system on BT hub 5 on it but in my home i have normal talktalk latest wifi hub 2019 as my main broadband ( no openwrt on it )
.and i was looking to make that BT Hub 5 ( have openwrt on it ) as main router connecting to the talktalk as wifi extender using powerline adapter

Can i do that and how i do that with details?

Thanks for all the openwrt community

https://openwrt.ebilan.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=266

The "LEDE Installation Guide for BT Home Hub 5A" has ISP specific configuration examples for multiple ISPs, it's mostly a question of selecting the correct VLAN tagging for your ISP.

1 Like

No i want to have bt hub to be the main broadband isp and extended to the talktalk router
I already installed the openwrt on the BT hub 5 router

Well, technically you want to use the TalkTalk as AP. Range extenders typically connect to the network witlessly, while in your case you will effectively interconnect the routers by LAN. There are different types of power-line kits, but a basic kit of 2 with 2 routers, it would be as if you are connecting bother routers by an Ethernet cable.

I don't know how far apart the 2 routers. For a small apartment, you could in theory connect the router wirelessly, but that's subject to firmware, chip sets and drivers etc. So it's probably easier to just use the powerline thing, but I am just mentioning the other option if you want to try it first. A factor would also would be weather you care if the clients of the "extender" are on a different subnet or not.

Note that for Powerline kits, some have devices with built-in AP function (so you could just get rid of the TalkTalk router if you have no other reason for using it. It's worth looking at what's available in the market and check your budget.

1 Like

Okay
Which is better to use the BT Hub 5 or the new talktalk wifi hub