Configuring PPTP on GL-MT300N-V2 router

Hi

This is my current setup:

Router: GL-MT300N-V2

VPN Provider: PureVPN

Firmware: LuCI openwrt-18.06

Requirement: PPTP on my router (BBCiPlayer / Chromecast abroad). Only PPTP appears to work in the intended environment according to PureVPN!

I have been following these instructions https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/services/vpn/pptp/client

but unfortunately I have not been able to get my configuration to work:

Menu option > LuCI > Network > Interfaces show an issue with the new setting I have tried to create:

Name: VPN

Protocol: PPtP

RX: 0 B (0 Pkts.)

TX: 0 B (0 Pkts.)

Error: Unknown error (AUTH_TOPEER_FAILED)

Does the error AUTH_TOPEER_FAILED indicate what might be wrong (The username and password are certainly correct!)?

As a newbie I need all the help I can get!

Thanks

Chris

try pptp with MSCHAPv2 and mppe encryption
also please send system logs and kernel logs, you can find these in luci web manage --> status

Hi Sina

Thanks for taking the time to reply.

Unfortunately the GL-MT300N-V2 doesn’t appear to have GUI settings for MSCHAPv2 and mppe encryption. Perhaps a limitation of being a small travel router.

Here’s a complete cycle of the System Log (repeated every 6 seconds):

Sun Feb 16 20:53:06 2020 daemon.info pppd[31656]: Plugin pptp.so loaded.
Sun Feb 16 20:53:06 2020 daemon.info pppd[31656]: PPTP plugin version 1.00
Sun Feb 16 20:53:06 2020 daemon.notice pppd[31656]: pppd 2.4.7 started by root, uid 0
Sun Feb 16 20:53:07 2020 daemon.info pppd[31656]: Using interface pptp-VPN
Sun Feb 16 20:53:07 2020 daemon.notice pppd[31656]: Connect: pptp-VPN <--> pptp (ukl1.pointtoserver.com)
Sun Feb 16 20:53:08 2020 daemon.warn pppd[31672]: Non-zero Async Control Character Maps are not supported!
Sun Feb 16 20:53:08 2020 daemon.info pppd[31656]: EAP: unknown authentication type 26; Naking
Sun Feb 16 20:53:08 2020 daemon.err pppd[31656]: EAP: peer reports authentication failure