Configure 1 router with "normal" internet and 2nd router with VPN

Hello,
I'm a OpenWrt noob and don't know much about configuring routers and networks. All I have managed to do until now was by doing research, watching/reading tutorials and a lot of trial/error. Please excuse any dumb or unnecessary questions. I tried to look everything up especially in this forum but I don't know what to look for exactly for going further with my project. Please don't hesitate to just point me to the right direction I can the research myself. Thanks!

Current Config:

• ISP Router (in Bridge Mode)
  • 1st TP-Link Archer C6 V2 EU version (Stock firmware)
  • 2nd TP-Link Archer C6 V2 EU (flashed OpenWrt 21.02.1)

What I want to achieve:

• I run the stock Archer C6 (StockRouter) without VPN and want to keep it that way.
  • I want the OpenWrt Archer C6 (OWRouter) running with the VPN config of my VPN service provider.
  • I need the OWRouter setup physically seperated from StockRouter for a few reasons.

I didn't think much of the prerequesites and just assumed this configuration might work. I configured OWRouter as a Dumb Access Point so that I can get the internet signal via LAN cable from StockRouter. When trying to setup the Wireguard config of my VPN provider they ask to change the DNS to their given adress. Of course this is not possible since OWRouter now receives the DNS from my StockRouter because I configured it as Dumb AP.

Am thinking about this completely wrong or is it just a Luci configuration problem? What do I have to do next?

Appreciate your help.

Can you tell us what these reasons are? It is generally possible to use just a single router to setup VLANs and vpns to with firewall isolation and routing according to your desired paradigm. This also makes the network easier to manage. Therefore, knowing your reasons (and your objectives) will help inform the best options.

1 Like