Class B to Class C on Wireless Bridge

OpenWRT newbie here.

I am planning to use OpenWRT on a TP-Link Router acting as a Wireless Bridge.

I am connecting to a network as a client, it delivers an IP on a Class B (subnet mask 255.255.0.0) my OpenWRT router will also be a DHCP server to devices connecting on a Class C network (Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0).

How would one configure OpenWRT?

Will it automatically be able to route the traffic if the subnets are on different classes?

This is a diagram of the networks

This isn't a "bridge" config.
Just configure OpenWrt as a wireless client and as long as the subnets between WAN and LAN are different it should all just work.

5 Likes

That is what I expected but it doesn't work.

If you use NAT (masquerade), which is the default configuration, clients on the primary network will not be able to reach back to the secondary network except by opening ports for them on the secondary router.

So you may want to turn off NAT and use conventional two-way routing. The primary router needs a route installed to the secondary network via the secondary router. In other words the gateway to 192.168.1.0/24 is via the secondary router's IP address on the primary network.

The size of the networks being different does not matter. Wherever you configure a network use the proper netmask associated with that network.

1 Like

Is the main network really configured as 200.1.1.1/16? That is not a private address...

Anyway, you must not be worried about being different classes, just decide whether you want a real bridge or a router.

1 Like

Thanks MK24

The only requirement is Internet access for the secondary network, no Lan access.

The primary network also only provides Internet access but for a different set of users and is provided by another company who themselves got it implemented by a third company.

It is a basic Internet service for a set of apartment complexes.