Can this router handle my requirements? What do you suggest?

Hi!

I'm new to OpenWrt. Looking to buy a router (1 device, "SoC" if I understand correctly) which can handle the followings using OpenWrt:

• vpn server (if too much I can "implement" this on my linux server)
  • network monitoring
  • adblock
  • guest network
  • potentially SQM (if I see improvements)
  • DNS encryption (not necessary)
  • potentially a few other things (dynamis dns, mpd.. but not necessary)

(wifi is not that important, it should be sufficient)
Current internet speed is 250Mbit/50Mbit. But let's keep in mind this could improve in the future.
Budget is around 100$. (I've read this famous post: So you have 500Mbps-1Gbps fiber and need a router READ THIS FIRST but I think have a bit different requirements. Maybe I'm wrong though.)
Devices: 3 devices via LAN; wifi: few smart thingies (not much traffic), few mobiles, 2 chromecast

Sofar the best what I've found is (for about 90$): https://openwrt.org/toh/hwdata/linksys/linksys_mr8300
Do you think this device can handle what I want?
If not, what would you suggest?

(Currently at home I have a Compal CH7465VF modem from the internet provider, but I'm having some issues with that which I hope an openwrt router can solve, but if not it is still needed for better privacy. Strange thing is this device has 512MB RAM and 2 core ~1200Mhz CPU so it is not that far off from mr8300 HW - by numbers, no idea about quality. But my guess is the software is trash and also it does too many things (handling telephone etc) so hopefully I can see some improvements.)
Why I think mr8300 can be enough to do this work is because the current Compal can do it as well (the basic part) and HW-wise they are sort of "similar". And SW can only improve.