.bin file is not compiling

Hi everyone

I am new to OpenWrt.

I have a Tp-Link TL-WR841N (V14) router. It is a 4/32 device.

Unfortunately the TL-WR841N (V14) just missed the cutoff when OpenWrt stopped producing builds for these 4/32 devices. I read I can still compile firmware for it myself, so that's what I want to do.

I'm having trouble compiling the firmware and hope someone can assist me.

I have installed building dependencies and I have been using this build system usage guide for compiling:

The problem I have is that after compiling, I can't find the .bin firmware.

I initially compiled OpenWrt v19.07.9, and I read that not being able to find a binary can be because of the binary exceeding 4MB, so I also tried compiling v18.06.9 but to no avail.

I will explain each step I did with v19.07.9.

I executed:

git clone https://git.openwrt.org/openwrt/openwrt.git
cd openwrt
git pull
git branch -a
git tag
git checkout v19.07.9
./scripts/feeds update -a
./scripts/feeds install -a
make menuconfig

In OpenWrt Configuration via 'make menuconfig', I changed the following:

Target System: MediaTek Ralink MIPS
Subtarget: MT76x8 based boards
Target Profile: MediaTek MT7628 EVB
Base system: '* wireless-tools'
Network: wireless ---> '* aircrack-ng' '* airmon-ng'

I then executed:

make download
make

Lots of packages compiled and then the last operation was a checksum. I then went into in '/openwrt/bin/' to fetch the firmware but it wasn't in there. All that was in there were two directories, 'packages' and 'targets'.

Can somebody please tell me what has gone wrong?

1. 19.07.x will go EOL this month, so not a good idea to work on that
  2. start with your attempts for a device (of the same target) with more flash, so you have an easier introduction into getting stuff working (no need to actually test it on real hardware, just to see the success and approximate size at the end of your compilation).