Basics on Wifi Bridge

I am a total OpenWRT newb, so forgive me if this message comes across as stupid.

I have got OpenWRT working on a couple of routers, the plan was to create a wifi bridge

A friend gave me an old TPlink and it works albeit that signal is not great so I thought I would get some better routers, install OpenWRT and see if I could improve things.

I understand that a new install does not set wifi on and that makes sense and I think I understand that I need to scan for a wifi to connect to in client mode (my preferred method), and then I need to create a second wifi which is called Master in OpenWRT terminology.

However, when I do this I get ---/-101 dBm with no internet connection.

Is this just an inadequate signal or is there something I can do?

Can someone also explain to me what dBm is and how what are the two numbers -60/-95 dBm relevant and why are they negative?

Also what is MCS?
What are good and bad examples of MCS

It would be great if someone could explain the “layers” of OpenWrt, in my logic it would be from bottom up

Wifi
Interface
Switch

Are there any “must do” things in these three?

The other thing is that when I compare the interfaces firewall settings they are not in the same order, does this matter and how should they be laid out?

Generally you'd try everything out in the same room so signal strength isn't an issue. Then deploy the equipment to where it will be used.

OpenWrt won't increase radio range or performance compared to stock firmware, but it gives you more operational modes like client mode, mesh and WDS.

If you're connecting to a regular AP (e.g. your neighbors or a public network) you'd use a routed client, if you own the AP and can set it to WDS or mesh then you can have a true bridge.