Asus ROG GT-AC5300

Hey folks!
I was given the above router years ago and it has served me well.
I've installed openwrt on several of the Gl.inet wifi routers, so i'm not a complete noob..

I learned last week that there was a build for the gt-ac5300 so of course i went for it.

what happened to the wifi?

All is up and seems to be great. the install went without a hitch.. but, there aren't any provisions to configure my wifi..

i'd hate to have to revert back to the asus firmware..

thanks!

The hardware data page for the device shows that it uses the Broadcom BCM4366E chip for WiFi...

Broadcom chipsets have very limited support in OpenWrt.

The fact that the WLAN driver is "unknown" is not a good sign.

You might look through the forum search results for the GT-AC5300 -

https://forum.openwrt.org/search?q=GT-AC5300

i wish i knew that before i uploaded openwrt.. now i don't have any wifi.. i don't know why they'd upload the firmware for this thing if the wifi isn't working

You're lucky this device has official snapshots. I don't know how it will work.

lucky? unless i can figure out a way to get the old firmware installed, my router is ruined.

i wouldn't have done it had i known this was going to happen.. i'm sure i'm not the only person who's lost a router because they flashed it with an image labeled as 'stable' only to find out part of it doesn't work.

this really puts me in a pickle..

It's quite commonly the case that OpenWrt doesn't support all hardware features of a given hardware, particularly common with Broadcom hardware. What should be warning signs:

• relatively new SOC support
  • no device page detailing the device and its current state of support
  • the (git-) commit adding support for it not explicitly listing what is- or is not supported at this point

Kind of suggests that the OEM firmware should be flashable in a simple fashion.

That's why I said I don't know if it works.