Arcadyan VGV7510KW22 (o2 Box 6431) - a few questions

I flashed v19.07 and uboot to an o2 box which I still had laying around.
I followed this very useful post by @Limer

Since I'm new to OpenWrt I have a bunch of questions.
Maybe someone here can kindly clarify a few things for me.

@Limer writes:

1. Create a 16MiB firmware image for a full flash just for your router (*).
  2. Copy u-boot:
    dd of=./cImage.bin if=./u-boot.bin
  3. Integrate your oWRT nor image (at position 0x80000):
    dd bs=1024 seek=512 of=./cImage.bin if=./***NOR-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin
  4. Finish the image with the board_config (at 0xfe0000) and verify it's size (exactly 16 MiB = 16777216 Byte):
    dd bs=1024 seek=16256 of=./cImage.bin if=./board_config.dump
  5. Optional step - Add a 128KiB (131.072 byte) non-empty uboot environment with correct CRC between uboot and OpenWrt to make it usable for the uboot -envtools with:
    dd bs=1024 seek=384 conv=notrunc if=/<path>/uBoot-Env.bin of=cImage.bin
  6. Flash cImage.bin on your router via brnboot's hidden recover web interface (http://192.168.1.1/undoc_upgrade.stm) similar to 1. - just select "Master" instead of Firmware or Bootloader.

I'm trying to understand what's actually being done in the above steps.
My current understanding:

A. Append the u-boot nor-image to the *-nor-squasfs-sysupgrade.bin-image
B. Append the board_config obtained from stock firmware with the image generated in A.

The resulting image should consume the exact size of the available flash storage on the device.

C. Flash the resulting image via brnboot's recovery interface.

After the successful flash, and ssh-ing into the device, I am presented with the following MTD partition-layout:

# cat /proc/mtd
dev:    size   erasesize  name
mtd0: 00020000 00020000 "board_config"
mtd1: 00060000 00020000 "uboot"
mtd2: 00020000 00020000 "uboot-env"
mtd3: 00f60000 00020000 "firmware"
mtd4: 001eaeb2 00020000 "kernel"
mtd5: 00d7514e 00020000 "rootfs"