An external network scanner appeared as a client on the internal network

Hi~ I'm just a beginner with openwrt.
My network structure is Internet Service Provider Router - My Router - openwrt(ADguardHome) on RP3.
I was surprised to open the AD Guard Home dashboard today.
A strange IP address is appearing in the internal client list.
Like the picture below.

The list of IPs displayed as clients is as follows.

After looking at a few, I can see that they are network scanning companies. But I don't understand how they can be my internal clients.
Can someone explain this case?
I am very perplexed.

thanks.

Taking in consideration that RPi3 has one LAN port only, are you using that to connect to the lan network of your router?
Are you allowing any traffic from the ISP router/ your router inbound?

RP3 is OpenWrt connected to my main router (192.168.1.1) by wire and is used only as ADGUARDHOME.

The ISP router provided by the Internet company is a device I cannot access.
My main router (192.168.1.1) is in the default state without any inbound settings.

A quick way to verify is to connect from the internet on your public IP and try to query something. At the same time monitor on RPi what you can see coming.
opkg update; opkg install tcpdump; tcpdump -i eth0 -n port 53

I have port forwarded port 53 on the main router (192.168.1.1) to port 5353 on OpenWrt (192.168.1.2).

The port forward of port 53 means that you are allowing hosts on the internet to use dns on your network. Seems logical that you would see external hosts show up in your client list.

Is there a reason you have opened this port? Normally you do not want to run any port forwards for services that don’t need inbound connectivity from the internet.

1 Like

When internal clients connect to the main router (192.168.1.1) and request DNS, port forwarding is done so that the main router leads to OpenWrt (192.168.1.2). Is this a risk factor?

Port forwarding works from the wan, not the lan.