Absolute Beginner Question

Hi, I am a volunteer for a sport where we have an electronic games data system. This runs as a java applet on a host machine. Tablets are connected wirelessly via a Draytek Vigor900 access point and a poe switch and the applet is accessed via the ip address with port 8000. If there is a broadcast stream, I give the broadcast an ethernet connection and they get the score/timing/penalty overlay.

I had a situation whereby I was connected to the broadcast network, which was using the venue's internet to broadcast to the streaming platform. The venue's network management software was imposing DHCP on my network, which also blocked the tablets from accessing the games data computer.

I think my solution of a Raspberry Pi 3 B+ as a router to protect my network and provide a point of connection between the broadcast network and the computer running the games data applet. I am an absolute beginner with respect to this system, my technical background is as a live events engineer, and a medical linear accelerator engineer.

Help!

I can absolutely buy help with photos of my pet rats being cute/idiots/absolute criminals

Keleigh

Do yourself a favour and skip the RPi3 for and RPi4 with usb3 NIC or a more purpose built wireless router - and don't consider the RPi's wireless to be suitable for anything.

I'm hoping to get some budget from the sport's global governing body for a second hand enterprise router, but in the mean time, I'm working with what I've got to hand

I should have said, there's no RPi wifi in use, I'm using a USB2 NIC in addition to the built in ethernet (RPi ethernet connected to the lan, USB 2 NIC connected to the broadcaster system)

High level;

Download an image file

Looks like they're all the same for the Pi 3
https://downloads.openwrt.org/releases/22.03.2/targets/bcm27xx/bcm2710/openwrt-22.03.2-bcm27xx-bcm2710-rpi-3-ext4-factory.img.gz

Write the image to a micro sd card, add the SD card into the pi and power up.