OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Support

The content of this topic has been archived between 16 Jun 2013 and 7 May 2018. Unfortunately there are posts – most likely complete pages – missing.

this is how trunk image are obtained:

https://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php … 84#p153984

so i guess that you just have to select the right target wink

btw, if you don't have space issues (using extroot??) it's much simpler to sysupgrade a new image from trunk downloads and install all packages you need wink

(Last edited by nebbia88 on 30 Mar 2012, 19:21)

gsenna wrote:

I said earlier, it could be something to use until someone find a way of handling the slide switch.

Try putting this into your /etc/config/system, it may not be the niftiest way out but works perfectly for me!

For this to work, you want to have 1 ap mode, 1 client mode entry and a 3G wan in /etc/config/network.

If you want clarity, make the script out of each individual button handler entry.

config button
        option action 'released'
        option button 'BTN_1'
        option handler 'logger "BTN_1 released: Enabling 3g" && (uci set network.wan.auto=0 && uci commit network && ifup wan) && logger "3G enabled"'

config button
        option action 'pressed'
        option button 'BTN_1'
        option handler 'logger "BTN_1 pressed: Disabling 3G" && (uci set network.wan.auto=0 && uci commit network && ifdown wan) && logger "3G disabled"'

config button
        option action 'pressed'
        option button 'BTN_0'
        option handler 'logger "BTN_0 pressed: Disabling WISP " && (for i in -1; do local net=$(uci get wireless.@wifi-iface[${i}].network); uci set wireless.@wifi-iface[${i}].disabled=1; uci set network.${net}.auto=0; uci commit && ifdown ${net}; done) && logger "WISP disabled"'

config button
        option action 'released'
        option button 'BTN_0'
        option handler 'logger "BTN_0 released: Enabling WISP" && (for i in -1; do local net=$(uci get wireless.@wifi-iface[${i}].network); uci del wireless.@wifi-iface[${i}].disabled 2>/dev/null; uci del network.${net}.auto 2>/dev/null; uci commit; ifup ${net}; done) && logger "WISP enabled"'

(Last edited by somebody on 30 Mar 2012, 19:29)

What about VPN? Can somebody tell me that?

I built my own openwrt from trunk and installed it successful to my TL-MR3020 via webinterface.
Now I want to install the latest nightly build provided by openwrt community - but it seems that I don't have tftpboot available:

root@OpenWrt:/# tftpboot 0x80000000 openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-mr3020-v1-squashfs-factory.bin
/bin/ash: tftpboot: not found
root@OpenWrt:/# ipkg
/bin/ash: ipkg: not found

even more problematic - it seems ipkg is missing too.
Can somebody help please how to get this solved?

thanks in advance,
regards, Jürgen

(Last edited by zeroat.net on 1 Apr 2012, 16:05)

zeroat.net wrote:

I built my own openwrt from trunk and installed it successful to my TL-MR3020 via webinterface.
Now I want to install the latest nightly build provided by openwrt community - but it seems that I don't have tftpboot available:

root@OpenWrt:/# tftpboot 0x80000000 openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-mr3020-v1-squashfs-factory.bin
/bin/ash: tftpboot: not found
root@OpenWrt:/# ipkg
/bin/ash: ipkg: not found

even more problematic - it seems ipkg is missing too.
Can somebody help please how to get this solved?

thanks in advance,
regards, Jürgen

Why struggle with tftpboot ?
Just use MTD or SYSUPGRADE.
sysupgrade can also save and restore your settings after flash.

used sysupgrade.
worked like a charm - thx.

Hi,

before buying a mr3020 , i would like to know if we can use openvpn server on it , and how ?

because i see a lot of wiki on openvpn on wrt but they don't speak about the network configuration ?
i would like to VPN the mr3020 connect to my WAN router. how must i configure the IP adress of the lan and wan on mr3020 (and router) to have a working vpn with mr3020?

new1 wrote:

Hi,

before buying a mr3020 , i would like to know if we can use openvpn server on it , and how ?

because i see a lot of wiki on openvpn on wrt but they don't speak about the network configuration ?
i would like to VPN the mr3020 connect to my WAN router. how must i configure the IP adress of the lan and wan on mr3020 (and router) to have a working vpn with mr3020?

Yes, you can install openvpn module in mr3020.
The wiki won't cover every details, try on your own.

ok , when i ve got it ..

another question , what must i set the position of the button of MR3020 , if i only want to use the Ethernet connection ?
3G - WISP - AP ?

Hi again, I'm struggling now for hours to get usb storage working on my 3020.
Kernel modules are loaded, everything should be fine.
But none of the usb-sticks I plug into the device get recognized in dmesg nor /var/log/messages.
The logs get refreshed when I un-/replug the network cable, so this seem to work fine, but no usb devices in general.

I have the relevant piece of /var/log/messages initializing the usb subsystem:

ref (0 dead, 2 orphan) found.
 SCSI subsystem initialized
 usbcore: registered new interface driver usbfs
 usbcore: registered new interface driver hub
 usbcore: registered new device driver usb
 ehci_hcd: USB 2.0 'Enhanced' Host Controller (EHCI) Driver
 ath79-ehci ar933x-ehci: Atheros built-in EHCI controller
 ath79-ehci ar933x-ehci: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1
 ath79-ehci ar933x-ehci: irq 3, io mem 0x1b000000
 ath79-ehci ar933x-ehci: USB 2.0 started, EHCI 1.00
 hub 1-0:1.0: USB hub found
 hub 1-0:1.0: 1 port detected
 ohci_hcd: USB 1.1 'Open' Host Controller (OHCI) Driver
 Initializing USB Mass Storage driver...
 usbcore: registered new interface driver usb-storage
 USB Mass Storage support registered.
 eth0: link down

Looks good, doesn't it? - Any Ideas?

--- Update ---

I had a look around to the forums and wiki pages. I found three different Kernel logs near the USB section:

From the wiki (http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/tl-mr3020)

ehci_hcd: USB 2.0 'Enhanced' Host Controller (EHCI) Driver
Port Status 1c000004
ar7240-ehci ar7240-ehci.0: ATH EHCI
ar7240-ehci ar7240-ehci.0: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1
ehci_reset Intialize USB CONTROLLER in host mode: 3
ehci_reset Port Status 1c000000
ar7240-ehci ar7240-ehci.0: irq 3, io mem 0x1b000000
ehci_reset Intialize USB CONTROLLER in host mode: 3
ehci_reset Port Status 1c000000
ar7240-ehci ar7240-ehci.0: USB 2.0 started, EHCI 1.00
usb usb1: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
hub 1-0:1.0: USB hub found
hub 1-0:1.0: 1 port detected

From the forum (https://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php … 56#p151256)

ehci_hcd: USB 2.0 'Enhanced' Host Controller (EHCI) Driver
ar71xx-ehci ar71xx-ehci: Atheros AR91xx built-in EHCI controller
ar71xx-ehci ar71xx-ehci: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1
ar71xx-ehci ar71xx-ehci: irq 3, io mem 0x1b000000
ar71xx-ehci ar71xx-ehci: USB 2.0 started, EHCI 1.00
hub 1-0:1.0: USB hub found
hub 1-0:1.0: 1 port detected

Therefore I can see three different chips(?)

- ar71xx-ehci
- ar7240-ehci
- ath79-ehci (mine!)

Might I have a different hardware model?, having a different chipset?
And therefore the USB Port not functioning because using the wrong drivers?

--- Updated again ----
Could it be possible that it has something to do with that 3-Position-Switch?
Might USB work only with a specific Position of that Switch? - I'll try this evening ...

Thanks in advance,
Regards, Jürgen

(Last edited by zeroat.net on 4 Apr 2012, 08:26)

gsenna wrote:

@sophitus, look at this:
https://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?pid=155151
I dont understand why it says you have to reflash using webGUI of stock firmware after using mtd -r write. It doesnt make any sense, does it?
Also, /tmp is RAM so check you have enough available free memory with the free command before uploading the image.

It worked!!! No serial cable was needed to revert to stock firmware.

Thx

I like the bandwith management capabilities of the stock firmware?

Does anybody know what technology is used?

How can I achieve the same with OpenWRT? How can I limit the bandwith of one or multiple IPs with OpenWRT to a certain amount?

With the stock firmware this is possible.

Hello everybody. Sorry but I'm new to here and have just bought a new TL-MR3020. I'm not familiar with routers and may be asking some stupid questions, so I hope you dun mind smile

I'm using Win 7 Notebook and mobile is Samsung Galaxy i9003. I've tried to connect the router to my modem, using AP mode, and done setup using the notebook (wirelessly connected).
When I've finished setting to connect notebook and notebook can connect to Internet, I found that my mobile cannot connect to router...tried WEP, WAP2 or even no encrypt but still not working. Mobile can search the router, however when trying to connect, it will say "finding the IP address..." and eventually "failed".

After that I reset the router, mobile can connect but notebook cannot (it is probably because the router is reset and not set up).

How the router should be set so that my mobile can connect successfully?
In case when I brought the router to a hotel that has LAN access, any beforehand setting needed to connect? or just plug and connect?
Sorry for the newbie question but thanks in advance. smile

Hello,

since I have updated to version 1.6 I´m missing the package kmod-usb-storage.
Without this package I´m not able to get access to my usb drive ?!
Thanks in advance

Andre

(Last edited by board_tester on 21 Apr 2012, 12:03)

Is there a chance to get package kmod-usb-storage again?
Thanks in advance

Same goes for kmod-usb-storage-option, kmod-usb-serial-wwan, kmod-usb-acm for instance. Missing since kernel went 3.3.2.

Does anyone has a working image for the 3020 Ver. 1.6?
the link to the snapshot gets a 404 error.
I followed the discussion here. I seems that some people got it working.

Thanks in advance

vikl45 wrote:

Does anyone has a working image for the 3020 Ver. 1.6?
the link to the snapshot gets a 404 error.
I followed the discussion here. I seems that some people got it working.

Thanks in advance

The build seems to be broken somehow, i.e. a lot of packages are missing, maybe somebody is trying to fix this and thus the link is not working now

Does anybody know when USB kernel modules for ar71xx will be fixed and available again?

Trunk OpenWRT on TP-LINK 3020 is pretty much useless without them!!!! (flash size limits usage if no EXTROOT  feature is useable)

Somebody could also put a "warning" statement at the official OpenWRT TP-LINK 3020 wiki page not to install OpenWRT until kernel modules are available again

Trunk OpenWrt is perfectly usable, you just have to compile yourself wink
The kernel modules are fixed since yesterday and an updated build is underway.

jow wrote:

Trunk OpenWrt is perfectly usable, you just have to compile yourself wink
The kernel modules are fixed since yesterday and an updated build is underway.

Cool thx a lot! smile

Does the binary on the TL-MR3020 page  support file systems?

I build my own binary sucessfully some days ago, added   FTDI and PL 2303 support cause I wanted to run gpsd,
but forgot file-support as it was my first try.

My binary and the gpsd runs fine, but yesterday I got a error message as I did an "opgk update"  foto install the other kernel modules needed.

I would like to have ext4 und vfat support.

thanks to jow for the work on the modules and the binary

opkg_install_cmd: Cannot install package kmod-fs-ext4.

Any suggestions what to do?

I add the error message I get right now

Installing kmod-fs-ext4 (3.3.3-1) to root...
Downloading http://downloads.openwrt.org/snapshots/ … ar71xx.ipk.
Collected errors:
* satisfy_dependencies_for: Cannot satisfy the following dependencies for kmod-fs-ext4:
*      kernel (= 3.3.3-1-b6045ab6883576e881279a4d2651f4b6) *   kernel (= 3.3.3-1-b6045ab6883576e881279a4d2651f4b6) *
* opkg_install_cmd: Cannot install package kmod-fs-ext4.

Thanks

vikl45 wrote:

Collected errors:
* satisfy_dependencies_for: Cannot satisfy the following dependencies for kmod-fs-ext4:
*      kernel (= 3.3.3-1-b6045ab6883576e881279a4d2651f4b6) *   kernel (= 3.3.3-1-b6045ab6883576e881279a4d2651f4b6) *
* opkg_install_cmd: Cannot install package kmod-fs-ext4.

Thanks

The firmware in your 703n is TOO OLD !
What did you update your firmware ?

(Last edited by johan666 on 30 Apr 2012, 16:43)