126 (edited by bigmuzzy 2011-08-27 19:29:33)

Re: running OpenWrt on a TP-Link WR841N V7.1

Why not work with jffs2? I install openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr841nd-v7-jffs2-factory.bin and not connected with telnet(putty). Sorry for bad English! I'm from Bulgaria. ;) Sys led not light. ON and LAN led light. How to connect to the router? Ruter is tl-wr841nd-v7.

Re: running OpenWrt on a TP-Link WR841N V7.1

Status so far:
hi there,
I just did the installation. - Having an TP-Link wr841nd ver7.0
Using the file offerd on the thread start - OpenWrtGargoyle | Kamikaze (r25042)
Worked perfect so far .. file was accepted and installed; after reboot logged in with no probs.

1. Question:
on the gargoyle website there a screenshots looking much more graphical (aeros design?) while the installed .bin file offers just some very basic text-like websites for configuring.

is there a additional file to be installed to get a full graphical look like shown on
http://www.gargoyle-router.com/wiki/doku.php?id=screenshots

2. Question
Is there any addon to get some vpn-server like functions (adding users with pwd and fiex ip - like using the bigger business routers i.e. draytek vigor series and some intellinet/ic-intracom devices (not speaking abt vpn passthrough!)

??

Any useful adds are welcome

Thanks in advance

Michael

btw: homelanguage is german, so don't care if I did some spell/gramma mistakes wink

Re: running OpenWrt on a TP-Link WR841N V7.1

I've successfully built the latest trunk, with PPTP and QoS support builtin. :-)

129 (edited by bigmuzzy 2011-09-16 21:12:43)

Re: running OpenWrt on a TP-Link WR841N V7.1

ar7240> tftpboot 0x80000000 abcd.bin
dup 1 speed 1000
Using eth1 device
TFTP from server 192.168.1.5; our IP address is 192.168.1.1
Filename 'abcd.bin'.
Load address: 0x80000000
Loading: T T T T T T T T T T
Retry count exceeded; starting again
eth0 link down.......


Why..?!?
Under VMware with XP and cable CA-42, PuTTy, TFTPD32

Read from: http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/TP-LINK_TL-WR841ND


Yesss... Problem was in VMware! All is OKS. wink Tanks for yours help. smile))

Re: running OpenWrt on a TP-Link WR841N V7.1

Good Day for All!

I can not understand with what may be due to a problem - when USB drive can not be recognized in the system.

I've done everything according to the scheme, taking into account all possible errors. I tried to swap D + and D-on contact but the error and is cleared.

Can there be a problem in the power supply? Or, with a long wire from the board to USB drive? Or can the problem of interference, because the wire without shielding?

root@OpenWrt:~# dmesg
Linux version 2.6.37.1 (simon@localhost) (gcc version 4.5.2 (Linaro GCC 4.5-2011.02-0) ) #1 Wed Feb 23 19:11:45 CET 2011
prom: fw_arg0=00000008, fw_arg1=a1f87fb0, fw_arg2=a1f88470, fw_arg3=00000004
MyLoader: sysp=f0f0f0f0, boardp=f0f0f0f0, parts=f0f0f0f0
bootconsole [early0] enabled
CPU revision is: 00019374 (MIPS 24Kc)
Atheros AR7241 rev 1, CPU:400.000 MHz, AHB:200.000 MHz, DDR:400.000 MHz
Determined physical RAM map:
 memory: 02000000 @ 00000000 (usable)
Initrd not found or empty - disabling initrd
Zone PFN ranges:
  Normal   0x00000000 -> 0x00002000
Movable zone start PFN for each node
early_node_map[1] active PFN ranges
    0: 0x00000000 -> 0x00002000
On node 0 totalpages: 8192
free_area_init_node: node 0, pgdat 8029e750, node_mem_map 81000000
  Normal zone: 64 pages used for memmap
  Normal zone: 0 pages reserved
  Normal zone: 8128 pages, LIFO batch:0
pcpu-alloc: s0 r0 d32768 u32768 alloc=1*32768
pcpu-alloc: [0] 0
Built 1 zonelists in Zone order, mobility grouping on.  Total pages: 8128
Kernel command line:  board=TL-WR741ND rootfstype=squashfs,jffs2 noinitrd console=ttyS0,115200
PID hash table entries: 128 (order: -3, 512 bytes)
Dentry cache hash table entries: 4096 (order: 2, 16384 bytes)
Inode-cache hash table entries: 2048 (order: 1, 8192 bytes)
Primary instruction cache 64kB, VIPT, 4-way, linesize 32 bytes.
Primary data cache 32kB, 4-way, VIPT, cache aliases, linesize 32 bytes
Writing ErrCtl register=00000000
Readback ErrCtl register=00000000
Memory: 29484k/32768k available (1921k kernel code, 3284k reserved, 377k data, 168k init, 0k highmem)
SLUB: Genslabs=9, HWalign=32, Order=0-3, MinObjects=0, CPUs=1, Nodes=1
NR_IRQS:56
Calibrating delay loop... 266.24 BogoMIPS (lpj=1331200)
pid_max: default: 32768 minimum: 301
Mount-cache hash table entries: 512
NET: Registered protocol family 16
MIPS: machine is TP-LINK TL-WR741ND
registering PCI controller with io_map_base unset
bio: create slab <bio-0> at 0
pci 0000:00:00.0: [168c:ff1c] type 0 class 0x000200
pci 0000:00:00.0: fixup device configuration
pci 0000:00:00.0: reg 10: [mem 0x00000000-0x0000ffff 64bit]
pci 0000:00:00.0: supports D1
pci 0000:00:00.0: PME# supported from D0 D1 D3hot
pci 0000:00:00.0: PME# disabled
pci 0000:00:00.0: BAR 0: assigned [mem 0x10000000-0x1000ffff 64bit]
pci 0000:00:00.0: BAR 0: set to [mem 0x10000000-0x1000ffff 64bit] (PCI address [0x10000000-0x1000ffff])
PCI: mapping irq 48 to pin1@0000:00:00.0
Switching to clocksource MIPS
NET: Registered protocol family 2
IP route cache hash table entries: 1024 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)
TCP established hash table entries: 1024 (order: 1, 8192 bytes)
TCP bind hash table entries: 1024 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)
TCP: Hash tables configured (established 1024 bind 1024)
TCP reno registered
UDP hash table entries: 256 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)
UDP-Lite hash table entries: 256 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)
NET: Registered protocol family 1
PCI: CLS 0 bytes, default 32
squashfs: version 4.0 (2009/01/31) Phillip Lougher
Registering mini_fo version $Id$
JFFS2 version 2.2 (NAND) (SUMMARY) (LZMA) (RTIME) (CMODE_PRIORITY) (c) 2001-2006 Red Hat, Inc.
msgmni has been set to 57
io scheduler noop registered
io scheduler deadline registered (default)
Serial: 8250/16550 driver, 1 ports, IRQ sharing disabled
serial8250.0: ttyS0 at MMIO 0x18020000 (irq = 11) is a 16550A
console [ttyS0] enabled, bootconsole disabled
Atheros AR71xx SPI Controller driver version 0.2.4
m25p80 spi0.0: found s25sl032a, expected m25p80
m25p80 spi0.0: s25sl032a (4096 Kbytes)
spi0.0: searching for MyLoader partition table at offset 0x10000
spi0.0: searching for MyLoader partition table at offset 0x20000
spi0.0: searching for MyLoader partition table at offset 0x30000
spi0.0: searching for MyLoader partition table at offset 0x40000
spi0.0: no MyLoader partition table found
Searching for RedBoot partition table in spi0.0 at offset 0x3e0000
Searching for RedBoot partition table in spi0.0 at offset 0x3f0000
No RedBoot partition table detected in spi0.0
spi0.0: no WRT160NL signature found
Creating 5 MTD partitions on "spi0.0":
0x000000000000-0x000000020000 : "u-boot"
0x000000020000-0x000000160000 : "kernel"
0x000000160000-0x0000003f0000 : "rootfs"
mtd: partition "rootfs" set to be root filesystem
mtd: partition "rootfs_data" created automatically, ofs=320000, len=D0000
0x000000320000-0x0000003f0000 : "rootfs_data"
0x0000003f0000-0x000000400000 : "art"
0x000000020000-0x0000003f0000 : "firmware"
ag71xx_mdio: probed
eth0: Atheros AG71xx at 0xba000000, irq 5
eth0: Found an AR7240 built-in switch
eth1: Atheros AG71xx at 0xb9000000, irq 4
eth1: using fixed link parameters
Atheros AR71xx hardware watchdog driver version 0.1.0
ar71xx-wdt: timeout=15 secs (max=21)
TCP westwood registered
NET: Registered protocol family 17
802.1Q VLAN Support v1.8 Ben Greear <greearb@candelatech.com>
All bugs added by David S. Miller <davem@redhat.com>
VFS: Mounted root (squashfs filesystem) readonly on device 31:2.
Freeing unused kernel memory: 168k freed
input: gpio-buttons as /devices/platform/gpio-buttons/input/input0
Button Hotplug driver version 0.4.1
eth0: link up (1000Mbps/Full duplex)
Registered led device: tl-wr741nd:green:system
Registered led device: tl-wr741nd:green:qss
SCSI subsystem initialized
usbcore: registered new interface driver usbfs
usbcore: registered new interface driver hub
usbcore: registered new device driver usb
ehci_hcd: USB 2.0 'Enhanced' Host Controller (EHCI) Driver
ar71xx-ehci ar71xx-ehci: Atheros AR91xx built-in EHCI controller
ar71xx-ehci ar71xx-ehci: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1
ar71xx-ehci ar71xx-ehci: irq 3, io mem 0x1b000000
ar71xx-ehci ar71xx-ehci: USB 2.0 started, EHCI 1.00
hub 1-0:1.0: USB hub found
hub 1-0:1.0: 1 port detected
Initializing USB Mass Storage driver...
usbcore: registered new interface driver usb-storage
USB Mass Storage support registered.
usb 1-1: new high speed USB device using ar71xx-ehci and address 2
usb 1-1: device descriptor read/64, error -71
usb 1-1: device descriptor read/64, error -71
usb 1-1: new high speed USB device using ar71xx-ehci and address 3
usb 1-1: device descriptor read/64, error -71
usb 1-1: device descriptor read/64, error -71
usb 1-1: new high speed USB device using ar71xx-ehci and address 4
usb 1-1: device not accepting address 4, error -71
usb 1-1: new high speed USB device using ar71xx-ehci and address 5
usb 1-1: device not accepting address 5, error -71
hub 1-0:1.0: unable to enumerate USB device on port 1
mini_fo: using base directory: /
mini_fo: using storage directory: /overlay
eth0: link down
eth0: link up (1000Mbps/Full duplex)
device eth0 entered promiscuous mode
br-lan: port 1(eth0) entering forwarding state
br-lan: port 1(eth0) entering forwarding state
eth1: link up (100Mbps/Full duplex)
Compat-wireless backport release: compat-wireless-2011-01-31-19-g74d6d79
Backport based on wireless-testing.git master-2011-02-25
cfg80211: Calling CRDA to update world regulatory domain
cfg80211: World regulatory domain updated:
cfg80211:     (start_freq - end_freq @ bandwidth), (max_antenna_gain, max_eirp)
cfg80211:     (2402000 KHz - 2472000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
cfg80211:     (2457000 KHz - 2482000 KHz @ 20000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
cfg80211:     (2474000 KHz - 2494000 KHz @ 20000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
cfg80211:     (5170000 KHz - 5250000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
cfg80211:     (5735000 KHz - 5835000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:00:00.0 to 64
ath: EEPROM regdomain: 0x0
ath: EEPROM indicates default country code should be used
ath: doing EEPROM country->regdmn map search
ath: country maps to regdmn code: 0x3a
ath: Country alpha2 being used: US
ath: Regpair used: 0x3a
ieee80211 phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'minstrel_ht'
Registered led device: ath9k-phy0
ieee80211 phy0: Atheros AR9287 Rev:2 mem=0xb0000000, irq=48
cfg80211: Calling CRDA for country: US
PPP generic driver version 2.4.2
cfg80211: Regulatory domain changed to country: US
cfg80211:     (start_freq - end_freq @ bandwidth), (max_antenna_gain, max_eirp)
cfg80211:     (2402000 KHz - 2472000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2700 mBm)
cfg80211:     (5170000 KHz - 5250000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (300 mBi, 1700 mBm)
cfg80211:     (5250000 KHz - 5330000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
cfg80211:     (5490000 KHz - 5600000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
cfg80211:     (5650000 KHz - 5710000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
cfg80211:     (5735000 KHz - 5835000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (300 mBi, 3000 mBm)
ip_tables: (C) 2000-2006 Netfilter Core Team
NET: Registered protocol family 24
nf_conntrack version 0.5.0 (463 buckets, 1852 max)
ar71xx-wdt: enabling watchdog timer

Thank you for your attention!

Re: running OpenWrt on a TP-Link WR841N V7.1

Hello everyone.
I recently got a wr841nd v7 and I am currently using dd-wrt but I want to give openwrt a try since dd-wrt is not running very well on it.
I just finished compiling the latest trunk (28871) targeting WR841N V7 and I have a couple of questions before flashing it.
While building the binaries the only changes I've made were the ones provided in this topic:
"Change Target System to (Atheros AR71xx/AR7240/AR913x/AR934x)"
"Change Target Profile to (TP-LINK TL-WR841ND v7)"
I also included the qos-scripts (built-in). Do you guys think my image is ok and I can proceed to flash it without bricking the router?
While building it It I couldnt find any LuCi packages on the attitude adjustment menu, only some LuCi2 libraries. Can I install it later using opkg?
Before flashing it, I'm going to revert it to the stock firmware and then flash the "from-factory" image. Will I need to flash anything else later? I ask this because I read a thread where the user flashed the from-factory .bin and the flashed the sysupgrade one.
Do you guys think the latest trunk is stable enough for this router or should I stick to the most recent available snapshot (dating form oct 27)
And last, how do I check if my revision is 7.1 or 7.2? On the bottom just says 7.0.
Sorry for so many questions.

Thanks.

132

Re: running OpenWrt on a TP-Link WR841N V7.1

That image won't brick your router, but it won't have a web interface. You need to run a couple commands on your source. First,
./scripts/feeds update
then:
./scripts/feeds install -a

Then rerun make menuconfig and select the luci packages and build again.
(Brief overview: http://wiki.openwrt.org/doc/howto/build#procedure)

The Factory .bin is just crafted specifically to go over the stock firmware. If you ever reflash over your openwrt install, you can use the sysupgrade .bin.

I have been running trunk om my v7 for quite some time. (about to flash to latest trunk again, actually). I have seen minimal problems.

The major version number on the router is the hardware revision. The second number (.0, .1, or .2) just indicates what firmware revision tp-link shipped it with. You can safely ignore that.

~Jonathan Bennett

Re: running OpenWrt on a TP-Link WR841N V7.1

Thanks for your help. I flashed it succesfully but it seems the wireless radio is not working as it should. I can't get anything to connect to it.
Here's my wireless config file:


config 'wifi-device' 'radio0'
        option 'type' 'mac80211'
        option 'channel' '11'
        option 'macaddr' 'b0:48:7a:a1:d3:18'
        option 'hwmode' '11ng'
        option 'htmode' 'HT20'
        list 'ht_capab' 'SHORT-GI-20'
        list 'ht_capab' 'SHORT-GI-40'
        list 'ht_capab' 'TX-STBC'
        list 'ht_capab' 'RX-STBC1'
        list 'ht_capab' 'DSSS_CCK-40'
        option 'txpower' '27'
        option 'country' 'US'

config 'wifi-iface'
        option 'device' 'radio0'
        option 'mode' 'ap'
        option 'ssid' 'OpenWrt'
        option 'encryption' 'none'

134

Re: running OpenWrt on a TP-Link WR841N V7.1

I ran into something similar. Does Luci have a wifi section under network?

Did Hostapd-mini or wpad-mini get compiled into the image? How about kmod-ath9k?

Re: running OpenWrt on a TP-Link WR841N V7.1

well, after some reboots and messing with the wi-fi connection I lost my wan connection too. Then the lan connection suddenly stopped working and I am now into failsafe mode but can't scp the original firmware to recover. Aby tips to get into a usable state?

136

Re: running OpenWrt on a TP-Link WR841N V7.1

Once you get into failsafe, run "firstboot". It will reset the router to default openwrt state.

Re: running OpenWrt on a TP-Link WR841N V7.1

please can you pass the 64K ART.BIN WR841ND TP-Link v7.2, thank you

138

Re: running OpenWrt on a TP-Link WR841N V7.1

Hi,
I have a TP-Link WR841ND v7 with Backfire trunk and I am trying to get it working as a WEP client.
Unfortunately when I configure it with the necessary WEP settings, it is successfully connected and receives IP from AP DHCP server. After that the traffic is not passing to the router, even the ARP table is not populating.
Has anyone tried the same or do you have any suggestions? I guess I will have to wait to the "official" RC release?
Kliment

Re: running OpenWrt on a TP-Link WR841N V7.1

i don't understand if you want a client bridge, but is not possibile with openwrt.. routed client OK:

http://wiki.openwrt.org/doc/recipes/routedclient

140

Re: running OpenWrt on a TP-Link WR841N V7.1

Hi nebbia88,
Exactly! I am trying to configure routed client on 841ND v7 with WEP, but unsuccessful. When I change the encryption to WPA/WPA2 everything works flawlessly. If you have any other suggestions?
I am trying to configure it to connect to my other wireless AP but no luck until now. Can someone other with TP-Link 841ND v7 test the same just to know if it is a hardware issue (I have read some articles regarding incompatibility between draft N and WEP encryption) or it is a software one and I have to wait until it is fixed in future openwrt releases?
Thanks again...
Kimby

141 (edited by nebbia88 2012-02-14 23:39:52)

Re: running OpenWrt on a TP-Link WR841N V7.1

if the router gets the ip from the main dhcp, through wifi client, encryption can't be your problem!

BTW WHY WEP?????

142

Re: running OpenWrt on a TP-Link WR841N V7.1

nebbia88 wrote:

if the router gets the ip from the main dhcp, through wifi client, encryption can't be your problem!

This was also my thinking, but yet when I change the encryption (WPA2 for example) on both the AP and client, the last gets its IP address and connection is fine.

nebbia88 wrote:

BTW WHY WEP?????

I am just testing smile and I need some assistance to find out if it is a bug in software or hardware limitation... If anyone has the same hardware (841nd) with OpenWRT, please make the same test and give me the results.
Thank you!

Re: running OpenWrt on a TP-Link WR841N V7.1

for sure it's software, i'm sorry i cannot test anything sad

but you could try gargoyle maybe wink

144

Re: running OpenWrt on a TP-Link WR841N V7.1

nebbia88 wrote:

for sure it's software, i'm sorry i cannot test anything sad

but you could try gargoyle maybe wink

Thank you for the useful suggestion, nebbia88. This will be interesting to test. But I can not find gargoyle image for 841nd v7. Is there any? Or could I safely use v5 for v7. Any experience with this anyone.??
smile
Kimby

Re: running OpenWrt on a TP-Link WR841N V7.1

follow this:

http://www.gargoyle-router.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=2032&start=10#p10193

basically you flash v5 FACTORY.bin image using mtd -r write...

146 (edited by Telemark 2012-07-19 19:58:28)

Re: running OpenWrt on a TP-Link WR841N V7.1

Hello folks.
Can anybody tell me is there any possibilities to assign one of LAN ports as a WAN?
I sought through this thread and the wiki but found nothing.
Last storm has popped my WAN. The router is still operable though.
Now my WR-841N v7.1 runs OpenWRT. uname -a says: "Linux openwrt 3.3.8".

Thanks. And sorry my poor English.

147

Re: running OpenWrt on a TP-Link WR841N V7.1

Yeah, totally possible. You have to go into the switch configuration. Remove the port you want from the first vlan, then create a second vlan. CPU is tagged, the port you want to use as wan is untagged, the rest are off.

Next, go to interfaces -> Wan - > physical settings. Change it to the vlan you just created. Save and apply. should do what you need.

Re: running OpenWrt on a TP-Link WR841N V7.1

oneru, I assume all those instructions you've provided are related to some web-interface.
I don't have any web-interfaces installed (and actually I'm not able to get any of them — to get it I need an internet connection and to set up the internet I need to remap one of LANs as a WAN), how can I  manage that from a command line?
Thank you.

149

Re: running OpenWrt on a TP-Link WR841N V7.1

I have TL-WR841ND V7.2

I noticed that this  page http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/tl-wr841nd links in the section "Installing OpenWrt on TP-Link TL-WR841ND V7.x:" download image link does not work!
I am writing this because I can not find anywhere witness exactly which image to use for my router!
Someone who has experience with this router  can share experiences.
Original software for this router has the following problems:
1.Upnp does not work
2.Wireless signal is weak compared to my previous router in the same conditions
3.Sometimes, the browser can not connect to router

For these reasons, I want to change it to openWRT.
Please someone tell which image is there no bugs and can be installed in a browser (OEM), is there a compiled image with LUCI or xwrt?

Re: running OpenWrt on a TP-Link WR841N V7.1

oneru wrote:

Yeah, totally possible. You have to go into the switch configuration. Remove the port you want from the first vlan, then create a second vlan. CPU is tagged, the port you want to use as wan is untagged, the rest are off.

Next, go to interfaces -> Wan - > physical settings. Change it to the vlan you just created. Save and apply. should do what you need.

I had the same problem - totally worked(see details at the end)!

Note that my router is version 5(v5). At first, I wasn't able to set the tagged/untagged options. The reason was that I followed the advice on the router home page for that version of the TP-Link hardware, and installed version 10.03.1-rc4(release candidate 4 for OpenWrt backfire). It turned out that there were no such options which made me very frustrated! Then I found that there's a sysupgrade-build for the router with the latest version: http://downloads.openwrt.org/attitude_a … pgrade.bin and I decided to take a chance.

@oneru: I actually had some difficulty running it. I don't know which settings I set first. But what I did was that for the LAN interface, I switched to virtual lan also:
http://imageshack.us/f/821/82827246.png/
, and setting the CPU from UNTAGGED to TAGGED there was also needed:
http://imageshack.us/f/825/74585379.png

Cheers!
And don't forget to use this software with attension!