OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: Choice of Modem

The content of this topic has been archived on 18 Apr 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

I'm going to try out openwrt - so I'm a newbie!

I currently have a regular broadband connection in the UK and I use the Service Providers free modem/router.

I'm looking to acquire a modem to use with openwrt and there is quite a few makes, model and hence specs to choose from. I don't understand the ADSL, VDSL, ADSL2, ADSL2+ and VDSL2 "options" that various modem/routers offer.

What's the difference between these technologies?

Which is the best to have?

Which one(s) would tech you insist upon having in a modem/router if it made a difference?

Thanks for your advice.

You need a modem matching your ISPs capabilities at your location; the good part is that most modems are backwards compatible (and you almost sorted the options in correct ascending order, for the details of technical capabilities and expectable throughput wikipedia has a lot to tell).

Just in short, if all your ISP can offer you at your location would be one of the ADSL flavours, paying retail price for a VDSL2/vectoring modem (at retail prices a factor of 2-4) wouldn't really be worth it (on the other hand, even those can be bought for a fiver in the used market, so...). With technologies still changing (e.g. super-vectoring far at the horizon), it doesn't make lots of sense to overspend just in case (unless you're certain that $new_technology will become available to you within the next 6-9 months).

And yes, it does make a lot of sense to put the demarcation line between internet (ISP network) and your private LAN on your own hardware (own software), without resorting to kludges like double NAT.

(Last edited by slh on 1 Feb 2018, 00:06)

ok thanks,

how can I tell which ADSL tech my current modem is using?

generalDB wrote: