OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: Using MR-3020 with USB dongle

The content of this topic has been archived on 21 Apr 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

To start off with, I am a complete novice at this but It is something I've always wanted to get into so here goes,

I'm trying to set up the MR3020 with an external wifi USB aerial.
(Essentially I'm making an internal network for my VW camper van so it can just drive up to a spot use the long-range aerial to connect to the wifi and then broadcast a local network within the van. A bit of a techy upgrade to a 1972 van)

I've installed OpenWrt Attitude Adjustment 12.09-beta2 and the Luci web onto the TPlink MR3020 interface but I'm struggling to get it to recognise an external USB aerial.

The one I'm using is this KuWFi 150Mbps Ralink RT3070 Max Distance Outdoor. The first result on googling that should bring up the Amazon page

Is there a way to get this setup within Luci, I'm not too great with the text interface in putty yet. If not then please explain away and I'm willing to learn it.

Thank you in Advance

AA is a very old version.  It will probably still work but could have security issues.

You will need to install the driver for the card.  I think that card uses kmod-rt2800-usb.  There are different ways to install drivers, the most straightforward is to use the online package manager. 

The router must be connected to the Internet, for example by using the built in radio as a client on a wifi system.

Go to the System -- Software page and click update lists.  Then search for and install kmod-rt2800-usb and rt2800-usb-firmware.

Reboot the router with the wifi USB device plugged in.  You should now have two radios under Network -- Wireless.

I've just upgraded it to Chaos Calmer 15.05.1 however if i go to install the kmod-rt2800-usb and rt2800-usb-firmware packages it displays

Unknown package 'kmod-rt2800-usb'