OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: Just how hard is it to update the Linux kernel?

The content of this topic has been archived on 14 Apr 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

Hi I just wanted to know just how hard is it to update the kernel? When I used Lubuntu on a shity laptop some one gave to me I had Intel GPU issues and read on a forum how to update the Kernel to fix them. It was a kace of using the update software to tell it to download the new Kernel and install and reboot. Why can't that be dun with Openwrt? I have herd about packages having Kernel dependences but i don't really know what that miens. I have herd devs say it is a lot of work to update the Kernel for Openwrt but just what does that entail? Pleas go easy on me i am not a programmer. All sow I have seen a lot of questions along similar lines in other threads so it's not just me who would like to know. Thanks.

Yes, its not very easy to update openwrt kernel preserving everything else.
Its simplier on devices where kernel is stored in a file but on most routers its compressed and programmed to flash.
+ in any case you have to copy new kernel modules.
If kernel version is significantly differs from the old one then modules can change, some modules disapper and new modules appear. All of this must be reflected in /etc/modules.d, so in common case its not enough to change kernel and module files, some other stuff must be corrected. On devices with low flash space (most routers) part of rootfs is read-only compressed squashfs and it also must be changed because it has kernel modules and its own /etc/modules.d. No procedures are developed for separate kernel and rootfs update, just total reflash that wipes everything - kernel, rootfs, settings.