OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: EA4500 - Only works in failsafe mode

The content of this topic has been archived on 29 Apr 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

I think my failsafe and normal partitions have somehow been kajigerred.

I've been Googling and reading docs for a few hours, I need to go to sleep so I'm going to drop my question here and hope someone can help. I apologize if I'm making a silly mistake.

Background - I am brand new to OpenWRT. I have some limited networking experience, a little Linux knowledge (I can get around and do basic things easily), I like to tinker. I am a Windows guy though so a lot of this is beyond my depth.

I installed OpenWRT on my EA4500 following the Wiki here: https://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/linksys/ea … ecommended.

This was straightforward, it didn't take the firmware the first time but on the second time, it flashed and rebooted.

This is where the problems began.

I had already read that I would need to set a root password before being able to do much else. I was not able to access the router via ssh nor telnet. I used putty, pointed it at 192.168.1.1, nothing. Tried setting the username to root, nothing. Every time, I get "No route to host". With telnet, there is a similar error, but I don't remember what it was. Windows will not let anything use the ethernet adapter because it thinks it's not connected. I don't have a console cable or a serial cable to try and dig deeper with this, but that should be unnecessary anyways, unless I'm missing something very basic in the docs.