OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: TL WDR3600 and OpenWRT USB/FTP Support

The content of this topic has been archived on 23 Apr 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

Can someone enlighten me on the support for USB drives and FTP on the current OpenWRT firmware?

I recently upgraded to a TL WDR4600 and have been happy with the network performance relative to the WRT160N v3 (on DD-WRT) I had in place before. I have NOT been happy with what seems to be constantly dropping connections with the stock FW and feeling that an upgrade to OpenWRT would be helpful for that.

What I didn't expect is that how much I enjoyed using the built-in USB ports for network storage and the built in FTP access makes it even more convenient. Is that support built into the current OpenWRT? If not, is it possible to add-on? How much effort? I'm not a total newbie to this, but if it's too involved I'll probably just stick with the stock firmware and hope they make it more stable soon.

it's all about packages installed
https://wiki.openwrt.org/doc/techref/opkg

vsftpd is available, also as samba and tonns of other software
basic openwrt installation will take 4mb of your 8mb flash chip so you have enuff space to install it

Hi there you could just install Gargoyle.
https://www.gargoyle-router.com/index.php
USB and FTP is all built in and ready to go.
Gargoyle is built on top of openwrt cc brantch. it's verry simple to use and the forum is really helpful. there is lots of plugins you can install and a grate adblocker. need any help then just let me no. if you do flash Gargoyle and dont like it you can just flash openwrt strate back with no messing about. to flash Gargoyle for your router just go to downloads and get 1.9 brantch. the file you wood use is gargoyle_1.9.0-ar71xx-generic-tl-wdr3600-v1-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin