OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: Please help explain

The content of this topic has been archived on 1 May 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

Hello all

I'm new to open-wrt, but have some electronic experience both repairing and modding various stuff.

I'm now tinkering with upgrading the memory of my homeautomation controller, called a Veralite from Micasaverde.

The VeraLite is a stripped down version of the Vera3 from the same company. My box has 64MB of RAM and the bigger Vera3 has 128MB of ram.

The two boxes are both having an RT3662F chip, and running Open-wrt, so I'm guessing that the firmware for the two are identical.

My VeraLite has a NT5TU32M16DG-AC chip, and after looking thru the datasheets I've ordered an NT5TU64M16GG-AC
chip to upgrader it with.

So here comes what I hope someone can explain, or maybe give me some pointer to:

I'm wondering, say the board has all the needed traces, and I get the chip soldered in, what is needed open-wrt or bootcode wise to utilize the extra 64MB's?? Will this be automatically configured as on a computer, or will I need to configure something else.

I've been reading of MTD's but don't think they apply to this kind of upgrade....

If I can provide any more information to enlighten any of you, please tell me, as I would really like to give this a try.

Thanks in advance.

Regards
Tommy

(Last edited by eritom on 24 Mar 2014, 19:26)

Memory size is usually autodetected by linux.

Hello MBS

Thanks for the reply, just what I was hoping for.

Regards
Tommy

Hello again

I've been reading abit on memory upgrades.

Now I wonder, do I have to do any changes within UBOOT to accomodate for more memory?

I get the impression that UBOOT tells Linux how much memory will be available, is this correct?

Can it be done by setting variables or the likes, or do I have to compile and flash new UBOOT?