OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: Netgear R6300?

The content of this topic has been archived on 2 May 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

Unfortunately it's too expensive for me to buy it and Netgear refused to send me a sample for adding support for it in Linux.

Another problem is that for writing wireless driver I would need PCIe card (like PCE-AC66) which is quite expensive too...

P.S.
If you find a serial console on your device, you can try booting ELF image (without overwriting current firmware) and we will know how well bcma&friends support this device. Maybe nothing more is needed at all?

(Last edited by Zajec on 11 Mar 2013, 07:21)

Wow!
Calm down! tongue
I'm a noob, and I've just "entered" openwrt's world.
Don't know how to find a serial console, nor booting ELF image tongue
I think I'm not capable of doing that.
And yeah... this router is VERY expensive (at least here, in Brazil, where it would cost something like US$ 600... damned taxes).

digital wrote:

Wow!
Calm down! tongue
And yeah... this router is VERY expensive (at least here, in Brazil, where it would cost something like US$ 600... damned taxes).

And does your government actually do anything with all those tariffs? Likely lining their pockets.

I would like to start seeing openwrt on the new .ac routers, especially with USB 3.0 support.

tului wrote:
digital wrote:

Wow!
Calm down! tongue

And does your government actually do anything with all those tariffs? Likely lining their pockets.

I would like to start seeing openwrt on the new .ac routers, especially with USB 3.0 support.

Pockets, underwear, something like that...

Yesterday I was reading about donating hardware to openwrt.org... I was thinking about donating one R6300 to openwrt.org big_smile (US$200 at Amazon, is a lot of money yet)... will see

digital wrote:

Wow!
Calm down! tongue