OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: Thomson TG789vn/TG789ivn support

The content of this topic has been archived on 30 Apr 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

Hi,

I am new to openWRT but I got references to openWRT in relation to my 'quest'.
I have a dozen used Thomson TG789vn and TG789ivn routers available for reconfiguration.
I hope to use them to facilitate free WIFI access in exchange for a Facebook like (for example).
I have a lot of Java experience and some linux experience.
Questions I have:
- can openWRT help me achieve this?
- can openWRT be loaded on my Thomson routers?
- Is there any other easy and free way to achieve my goal?

any help is greatly appreciated smile

Well they aren't officially unsupported (http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/start).
But it seems nobody has tried them.
OTOH Thomson produce a lot of crud.
It is a fairly involved task to port openWRT to new hardware, particularly if the stock firmware on the device isn't open source (as in the Thomson case - I think).
Take a look at the link above and see if there are supported Thomsons with similar chips to those yours contain (yup, screwdriver required!).
Good luck.

Thanks for the quick reply!
I do not care too much how to solve my challenge, as long as I get it done.
I am also looking at a possible Java Proxy solution, but no clue how to auto insert the proxy so any device connecting to the Thomson wifi will go through the proxy and it's facebook like 'barrier'....

As said earlier I am pretty novice still. I am a quick learner and open to any possible solution path. As long as I can reuse my Thomson routers. A separate proxy server or any other type of server is possible too, as long as there is a way to get the thomson to always go through that one server, so I can enforce the facebook challenge before opening the wifi for that device to open internet

Give it 24 hours. Maybe someone has hands on experience with this hardware.