OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: OpenWRT adapted to fully support RB493G (including SD)

The content of this topic has been archived on 14 Apr 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

Hello All,

I would like to share with the whole OpenWRT community that I got a fully working openWRT for my RB493G router board including the microSD slot which as far as I could see was not working properly on the original openwrt trunk.

I have been using that modified OpenWRT on my router for a couple of months since now and it looks stable enough.

My work is based on the Linux kernel 2.6.35 patch provided by Mikrotik guys which is in turn the core of RouterOS versions up to 5.x (I believe). So far I only tested it on a RB493G since this is the router I own. However I believe this will be easily expandable to other boards since that Linux patch is supporing also other RB400 series boards.

I uploaded the code into following repository at GitHub in case any of you are interested on knowing what was done or are looking for full working OpenWRT on RB493G (of course at your own risk!). Current master branch is based on OpenWRT trunk revision 34879.

https://github.com/PrieJos/openwrt-ar71xx-mikrotik.git

Regards,
PrieJos

(Last edited by priejos on 6 Jan 2013, 13:24)

OpenWrt AA 12.09 BETA/RC1 and trunk are just missing a one-line patch to register the SD-card-reader. Messing around with old kernel versions is not necessary. I hope the patch will make it into AA 12.09. See ticket #12349 for further information.

Hi

renne wrote:

OpenWrt AA 12.09 BETA/RC1 and trunk are just missing a one-line patch to register the SD-card-reader

Yes I noted that already when trying to get the microSD working on openWRT. Anyway, that's great you already reported that to developers. wink

renne wrote:

Messing around with old kernel versions is not necessary