OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: TL-WR740n v4.2 how to change WAN port

The content of this topic has been archived on 28 Apr 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

Hi there. I'm new with Open-WRT. The reason i installed Open-WRT on this tp-link router is that it's WAN port is dead, and i need to replace it with one or the LAN ports. DD-WRT doesn't support VLAN's on atheros based routers. But Open-WRT does, yes? So as far i achieved to install latest trunk version, no GUI for know, because it cannot access the internet. So can anyone edit network file that let say LAN port number 4 would be WAN? i read documentation, but i  cant do it, i tried to configure it, but worthless. So this is my network file:

config interface 'loopback'
    option ifname 'lo'
    option proto 'static'
    option ipaddr '127.0.0.1'
    option netmask '255.0.0.0'

config interface 'lan'
    option ifname 'eth0.1'
    option type 'bridge'
    option proto 'static'
    option ipaddr '192.168.1.1'
    option netmask '255.255.255.0'

config interface 'wan'
    option ifname 'eth0.2'
    option proto 'dhcp'

config switch
    option name 'eth0'
    option reset '1'
    option enable_vlan '1'

config switch_vlan
    option device 'eth0'
    option vlan '1'
    option ports '0 1 2 3'

config switch_vlan
    option device 'eth0'
    option vlan '2'
    option ports '4 5t'

can anyone make it right?

(Last edited by tomaxsas on 14 Sep 2012, 17:12)

anyone?

option ifname 'lo'
    option proto 'static'

config interface 'lan'
    option ifname 'eth0.1'
    option type 'bridge'
    option proto 'static'

config interface 'wan'
    option ifname 'eth0.2'
    option proto 'dhcp'

config switch
    option name 'eth0'
    option reset '1'
    option enable_vlan '1'

config switch_vlan
    option device 'eth0'
    option vlan '1'
    option ports '0 1 2 3 5t'

config switch_vlan
    option device 'eth0'
    option vlan '2'
    option ports '4 5t'