OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: AR9331 Piggy-Back memory Upgrade

The content of this topic has been archived on 6 Apr 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

I am about to upgrade my WR703N to 64MB with an Elpida EDD5116ADTA-6B-E RAM chip.

The chip comes from a 512MB sodimm and there will be 7 others left on it!

Does anyone know if these chips can be piggy-backed to get more than 64MB of ram? At a minimum I guess there is bound to be some electrical difficulties but is it feasible? Are there enough address lines to do that?

All input is welcome (I mean it!)

No way, the pin 17 of the ram footprint (address line A13, existing only in 1Gbit RAM chips) is isolated and unrouted, so I suppose that the AR9331 doesn't have such capability.

bummer :-(

I'm not a pro, but I guess matching a free dangling wire + resistor with one of the traces is out of the question! Even if the AR9331 had an A13 line.

Oh well... thanks for the reply nonetheless!

Well, I think the ram interface is hardware controlled, not by software, so we can't just wire a free GPIO to the new RAM CS pin (Chip Select) and let it work that easy.
Unless some developer say something, I think its impossible at the moment.
I'm also looking for a RAM upgrade for my 740n v4 (same hardware as your 703n) so that's why I searched if it could be done...

Unfortunately, you can't just  piggy-back an SDRAM chip on top of the existing one and expect it to work reliably sad

We are speaking here of 300 MHz here!

At this speed, the trace length has a magnitude comparable to the signal wavelength (inversely proportional to frequency, 1 meter or 3.3 ft), so having a mismatch will result in some bits of address/data/control buses arriving early/late and causing random read/write errors.

Do you see the small "snake" traces between the AR9331 and the SSRAM chip? These are done on purpose to match the different traces to be the exact same length...