Topic: TP-Link TL-WR703N, cannot install luci, no internet connection.

The router is not mine, i borrowed it from a friend for some days, and i have messed things up.

I flashed the original firmware with this (http://downloads.openwrt.org/snapshots/ … pgrade.bin). after that i accessed it from telnet 192.168.1.1 and created a password.

Now i can it only from PuTTy. WinSCP doesnt work. I have only one ethernet port and that is i am using to connect to the router. i cannot install install luci.

Is there a way i can install luci without internet?

I am a complete noob in these matters. please explain in easy way.

Re: TP-Link TL-WR703N, cannot install luci, no internet connection.

*If* you have an existing router which serves DHCP then do the following:

SSH into the 703n, turn the ethernet port into a DHCP client:

uci set network.lan.proto=dhcp
uci commit network

In case things go wrong let's configure a fallback IP as well:

uci set network.fallback=interface
uci set network.fallback.ifname=eth0
uci set network.fallback.proto=static
uci set network.fallback.ipaddr=192.168.3.1
uci set network.fallback.netmask=255.255.255.0
uci commit network

Connect the 703n LAN port to one of the LAN ports of your existing router, powercycle it and wait two minutes.
Go to the adminstrative page of your main router and see which IP got assigned to the 703n, use that IP to SSH to it again. Once you're in it you can use "opkg update", "opkg install luci".

If you think you lost your wr703n, set your PC statically to 192.168.3.2, netmask 255.255.255.0, connect the ethernet cable straight to the WR703n and access by the 192.168.3.1 IP address.

I have a ADSL modem, but don`t know if it can serve as DHCP? how to check?

And also (if it can help) i am using Windows not Linux.

Ok, i checked my ADSL modem, it has something called DHCP table. i did turn the ethernet port to dhcp client. now the IP assigned to the router is 192.168.1.2.