OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: TP-LINK 150Mpps TL-WR703N V 1.6 Chinesepload

The content of this topic has been archived on 15 Apr 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

Hi, I've trawled the internet for an easy guide to change to English. I am not a programmer. I can connect to TP_LINK using browser 192.168.1.1 ok and find userRpm/SoftwareUpgradeRpm.htm by hovering over links in Chinese. Is there a simple step by step guide to upload English version and is there a user guide. Thanks a mil in advance.

You can find everything you need on this page: http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/tl-wr703n

There is a problem with the current firmware build for this router. You need to wait for a build that not made on May 29th or you will brick your router.

Thanks. I'm not familar with openwrt. I can see the download file directories and open them to view content but how do I download and save to laptop (used to downloading zip file and extracting content). I must be missing something simple.

Flashed wr703n, seemed to load and reboot ok. However couldn't access over web. Followed fist login and set passwrd, however couldn't access via web. Tried Failsafe and reset passwd. Still can't access via ssh. Please suggest what steps I can take. I can login failsafe using putty but what is username ??? e.g. ssh root@192.168.1.1. Any help welcome.

The first steps are to go in via telnet and set a password for root.
Once a password for root is set it will disable telnet and enable ssh

Followed instructions http://wiki.openwrt.org/doc/howto/generic.failsafe and reset passwd see below from putty screen. It seems to successfully change passwd and actiavte ssh. However as shown below when I try to ssh using putty the username root and new passwd are denied access. 

=== IMPORTANT ============================
  Use 'passwd' to set your login password
  this will disable telnet and enable SSH