OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: Sysupgrade - Newbie question

The content of this topic has been archived on 2 May 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

Im quite new to OpenWRT, but i have fiddled a wee bit with linux and ofc other variants of wifi firmware (dd-wrt and tomatousb)..

Now, i dont really understand the approach to "sysupgrade", and what it really does. I know in eg. dd-wrt when you upgrade the image, everything will be replaced, and even tho its not recommended, your config will be preserved. This thing with "sysupgrade", does it just flash "over" the current image like doing a fw upgrade in dd-wrt, or is it more like upgrading the kernel files, while keeping everything else?

Lets say i have installed a "custom build" by "A". I remove some addons and stuff i dont need from his build. Then i figure id like to try out the custom build by "B". He have set things up using a wee bit different addons and things, but some are the same.

What will happen during a sysupgrade?
Will :
A: I upgrade whatever kernel and main binaries that i am running when i do the sysupgrade?
B: Everything will be reinstalled, including the addons in the new image, and old addons and things i have added on my previous setup is gone?
C: I should really really just dont think about this, and just set everything up again after doing a upgrade?

If case C: above, should i then use the "factory" image, and not the sysupgrade one?

C

After you installed OpenWrt on your embedded hardware, you do not need to use the "factory"-images. You can do so, but there is no point.

Please find/extrapolate further information from the wiki: OpenWrt Sysupgrade

Orca wrote:

After you installed OpenWrt on your embedded hardware, you do not need to use the "factory"-images. You can do so, but there is no point.

Please find/extrapolate further information from the wiki: OpenWrt Sysupgrade