OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: Find the .config file to duplicate a specific .bin from the trunk

The content of this topic has been archived on 7 Apr 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

I'm going to try to make this as specific as possible because I've seen people try to ask this question and not get particularly satisfying answers.

I'm a relative noob to the the OpenWRT scene but do know my way around an embedded linux system and building kernels.

I have a TP-Link WR703N and so downloaded the latest binary "factory" image from trunk:

openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory.bin

This installed easily and I was up and running in no time: Kudos to all involved with making it so easy.

The problem starts when I'd like to make a small change to what gets built and put on the initial squashfs...

I checked out r29844 from the source as this is the release used to build the bin. This has an empty config filled with thousands of options that make little sense to my noob eyes.
What I really want is the .config that was used to build openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory.bin so that I can make my small change and then make a new .bin.

So here's the question:
#########################################################################################
Where can I find the *specific* .config that will allow me to duplicate the .bin that I downloaded for my box?
#########################################################################################

As a noob, I need this to see how my image was put together and start to make small changes so that I can see what the various options do. At my level of knowledge, it is virtually impossible to successfully choose all of the right options among the thousands of possibilities that will even result in a bootable build for my specific box.