Topic: TP-Link TL-WR710N

Hello folks,

I find myself in possession (from China, no less) of a shiny new TP-LINK TL-WR710N router. I’m interested in getting OpenWRT on it. Unfortunately, I have no prior experience with the OpenWRT development process. I do not have a serial port adapter readily available but can probably acquire one.

Wiki page for similar device: http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/tl-wr703n
Prior art: https://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?id=32888

I assume none of the pre-built images will work, so I am in the process of setting a working build environment on my computer. I'm working on the assumption that if I tweak the current WR703N settings I can make it work for WR710N.

I am having difficulty finding the web page for uploading firmware. There appears to be a patch with an upload box, but as far as I can tell the translation is for "settings", not "firmware." Is this the right page? The title is "????" and the text looks as follows:

?????????????????????
? ? ??   
TFTP ??? IP?   

So it seems more likely that TFTP will need to be used.

Advice on how to proceed here greatly appreciated. I'm fairly experienced with the Linux compiler toolchain and networking, but not so much firmware hacking.

Cheers,
Edward

Re: TP-Link TL-WR710N

try with a google chrome browser connected to internet on other interface to help you understand the web of tp-link
also try to solder a ttl serial interface - you will most likely need it.

Re: TP-Link TL-WR710N

Unsupported.

OpenWrt / TP-Link's Range of Portable Wireless Routers (TL-WR)

Re: TP-Link TL-WR710N

OK, looks like folks on that thread are poking at this process. I'll head on over there.

Re: TP-Link TL-WR710N

OpenWrt / devices with 2 MB flash

Re: TP-Link TL-WR710N

is it because of the 2mb limitation and that is the reason it is not supported?

Re: TP-Link TL-WR710N

alfredlim wrote:

is it because of the 2mb limitation and that is the reason it is not supported?

Sorry, i'm getting a bit confused - is it supported or not supported? smile

Re: TP-Link TL-WR710N

OpenWRT minimum requirement is 4MB Flash + 32 MB RAM.

The TL-WR700N/702N/710N/740N (720N ?) are not supported:
http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/start#tp-link3

They have only 2MB of Flash and 16MB of RAM.

However, folks are trying to squeeze a minimal system in it with just the minimum features (no IPv6 smile) to do a pivot root on an external USB memory stick Flash device right after startup. This may work but it is unsupported in the mainstream OpenWRT distribution (is there such a thing?) and it is quite involved, so don't expect anything Plug&Play...

Anyway, with 16MB of RAM only, you will reach the ceiling very quickly.

2x TP-Link TL-MR3020, 2x TP-Link TL-WR703N, 1x TP-Link TL-MR11U, 1x Hame MPR-L8

Re: TP-Link TL-WR710N

Squonk wrote:

OpenWRT minimum requirement is 4MB Flash + 32 MB RAM.

The TL-WR700N/702N/710N/740N (720N ?) are not supported:
http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/start#tp-link3

They have only 2MB of Flash and 16MB of RAM.

However, folks are trying to squeeze a minimal system in it with just the minimum features (no IPv6 smile) to do a pivot root on an external USB memory stick Flash device right after startup. This may work but it is unsupported in the mainstream OpenWRT distribution (is there such a thing?) and it is quite involved, so don't expect anything Plug&Play...

Anyway, with 16MB of RAM only, you will reach the ceiling very quickly.

thanks for the response. I guess I will just leave it and use it when I go for my holiday

10 (edited by a1f0x 2013-04-21 13:39:03)

Re: TP-Link TL-WR710N

Hello! My upgrade box TP-Link TL-WR710N with 8Mb flash and 64 Mb RAM but wifi does not work. I use patch from Yousong Zhou
http://patchwork.openwrt.org/patch/3543/ and U-boot from http://code.google.com/p/wr703n-uboot-with-web-failsafe/

U-Boot 1.1.4 (Apr  3 2013 - 22:40:13)

AP121 (ar9330) U-boot

DRAM:  64 MB
led turning on for 1s...
id read 0x100000ff
flash size 8388608, sector count = 128
Flash:  8 MB
Using default environment

In:    serial
Out:   serial
Err:   serial
Net:   ag7240_enet_initialize...
blah blah blah ...
blah blah blah ...
blah blah blah ...
Fetching MAC Address from 0x83ff2884
Fetching MAC Address from 0x83ff2884
: cfg1 0x5 cfg2 0x7114
eth0: 00:01:01:01:00:02
ag7240_phy_setup 
eth0 up
: cfg1 0xf cfg2 0x7214
eth1: 00:01:01:01:00:01
athrs26_reg_init_lan
ATHRS26: resetting s26
ATHRS26: s26 reset done
ag7240_phy_setup 
eth1 up
eth0, eth1
Autobooting in 3 seconds
...
BusyBox v1.19.4 (2013-04-21 14:34:46 FET) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.
  _______                     ________        __
 |       |.-----.-----.-----.|  |  |  |.----.|  |_
 |   -   ||  _  |  -__|     ||  |  |  ||   _||   _|
 |_______||   __|_____|__|__||________||__|  |____|
          |__| W I R E L E S S   F R E E D O M
 -----------------------------------------------------
 BARRIER BREAKER (Bleeding Edge, r36370)
 -----------------------------------------------------
  * 1/2 oz Galliano         Pour all ingredients into
  * 4 oz cold Coffee        an irish coffee mug filled
  * 1 1/2 oz Dark Rum       with crushed ice. Stir.
  * 2 tsp. Creme de Cacao
 -----------------------------------------------------
root@OpenWrt:/# dmesg
[    0.000000] Linux version 3.8.8 (a1f0x@a1f0x-media) (gcc version 4.6.4 (OpenWrt/Linaro GCC 4.6-2012.12 r36370) ) #1 Sun Apr 21 14:39:20 FET 2013
[    0.000000] MyLoader: sysp=0ff3effb, boardp=d8a7fdbc, parts=c78f6cfc
[    0.000000] bootconsole [early0] enabled
[    0.000000] CPU revision is: 00019374 (MIPS 24Kc)
[    0.000000] SoC: Atheros AR9330 rev 1
[    0.000000] Clocks: CPU:400.000MHz, DDR:400.000MHz, AHB:200.000MHz, Ref:25.000MHz
[    0.000000] Determined physical RAM map:
[    0.000000]  memory: 04000000 @ 00000000 (usable)
[    0.000000] Initrd not found or empty - disabling initrd
[    0.000000] Zone ranges:
[    0.000000]   Normal   [mem 0x00000000-0x03ffffff]
[    0.000000] Movable zone start for each node
[    0.000000] Early memory node ranges
[    0.000000]   node   0: [mem 0x00000000-0x03ffffff]
[    0.000000] On node 0 totalpages: 16384
[    0.000000] free_area_init_node: node 0, pgdat 802f6870, node_mem_map 81000000
[    0.000000]   Normal zone: 128 pages used for memmap
[    0.000000]   Normal zone: 0 pages reserved
[    0.000000]   Normal zone: 16256 pages, LIFO batch:3
[    0.000000] Primary instruction cache 64kB, VIPT, 4-way, linesize 32 bytes.
[    0.000000] Primary data cache 32kB, 4-way, VIPT, cache aliases, linesize 32 bytes
[    0.000000] pcpu-alloc: s0 r0 d32768 u32768 alloc=1*32768
[    0.000000] pcpu-alloc: [0] 0 
[    0.000000] Built 1 zonelists in Zone order, mobility grouping on.  Total pages: 16256
[    0.000000] Kernel command line:  board=TL-WR720N-v3 console=ttyATH0,115200 rootfstype=squashfs,jffs2 noinitrd
[    0.000000] PID hash table entries: 256 (order: -2, 1024 bytes)
[    0.000000] Dentry cache hash table entries: 8192 (order: 3, 32768 bytes)
[    0.000000] Inode-cache hash table entries: 4096 (order: 2, 16384 bytes)
[    0.000000] __ex_table already sorted, skipping sort
[    0.000000] Writing ErrCtl register=00000000
[    0.000000] Readback ErrCtl register=00000000
[    0.000000] Memory: 61344k/65536k available (2162k kernel code, 4192k reserved, 578k data, 264k init, 0k highmem)
[    0.000000] SLUB: Genslabs=9, HWalign=32, Order=0-3, MinObjects=0, CPUs=1, Nodes=1
[    0.000000] NR_IRQS:51
[    0.080000] Calibrating delay loop... 265.42 BogoMIPS (lpj=1327104)
[    0.080000] pid_max: default: 32768 minimum: 301
[    0.080000] Mount-cache hash table entries: 512
[    0.090000] NET: Registered protocol family 16
[    0.090000] MIPS: machine is TP-LINK TL-WR720N v3
[    0.130000] ar71xx: using random MAC address for eth0
[    0.330000] ar71xx: using random MAC address for eth1
[    0.550000] bio: create slab <bio-0> at 0
[    0.550000] Switching to clocksource MIPS
[    0.560000] NET: Registered protocol family 2
[    0.560000] TCP established hash table entries: 512 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)
[    0.570000] TCP bind hash table entries: 512 (order: -1, 2048 bytes)
[    0.570000] TCP: Hash tables configured (established 512 bind 512)
[    0.580000] TCP: reno registered
[    0.580000] UDP hash table entries: 256 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)
[    0.590000] UDP-Lite hash table entries: 256 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)
[    0.600000] NET: Registered protocol family 1
[    0.600000] PCI: CLS 0 bytes, default 32
[    0.620000] squashfs: version 4.0 (2009/01/31) Phillip Lougher
[    0.620000] jffs2: version 2.2 (NAND) (SUMMARY) (LZMA) (RTIME) (CMODE_PRIORITY) (c) 2001-2006 Red Hat, Inc.
[    0.630000] msgmni has been set to 119
[    0.630000] io scheduler noop registered
[    0.640000] io scheduler deadline registered (default)
[    0.640000] Serial: 8250/16550 driver, 1 ports, IRQ sharing disabled
[    0.650000] ar933x-uart: ttyATH0 at MMIO 0x18020000 (irq = 11) is a AR933X UART
[    0.660000] console [ttyATH0] enabled, bootconsole disabled
[    0.670000] ath79-spi ath79-spi: master is unqueued, this is deprecated
[    0.680000] m25p80 spi0.0: found s25fl064k, expected m25p80
[    0.680000] m25p80 spi0.0: s25fl064k (8192 Kbytes)
[    0.690000] 5 tp-link partitions found on MTD device spi0.0
[    0.690000] Creating 5 MTD partitions on "spi0.0":
[    0.700000] 0x000000000000-0x000000020000 : "u-boot"
[    0.700000] 0x000000020000-0x000000115380 : "kernel"
[    0.710000] mtd: partition "kernel" must either start or end on erase block boundary or be smaller than an erase block -- forcing read-only
[    0.720000] 0x000000115380-0x0000007f0000 : "rootfs"
[    0.720000] mtd: partition "rootfs" must either start or end on erase block boundary or be smaller than an erase block -- forcing read-only
[    0.740000] mtd: partition "rootfs" set to be root filesystem
[    0.740000] mtd: partition "rootfs_data" created automatically, ofs=2C0000, len=530000 
[    0.750000] 0x0000002c0000-0x0000007f0000 : "rootfs_data"
[    0.760000] 0x0000007f0000-0x000000800000 : "art"
[    0.760000] 0x000000020000-0x0000007f0000 : "firmware"
[    0.780000] libphy: ag71xx_mdio: probed
[    0.790000] eth0: Atheros AG71xx at 0xb9000000, irq 4, mode:MII
[    1.340000] ag71xx ag71xx.0 eth0: connected to PHY at ag71xx-mdio.1:04 [uid=004dd041, driver=Generic PHY]
[    1.350000] eth1: Atheros AG71xx at 0xba000000, irq 5, mode:GMII
[    1.910000] eth1: Found an AR7240/AR9330 built-in switch
[    2.940000] TCP: cubic registered
[    2.940000] NET: Registered protocol family 17
[    2.940000] 8021q: 802.1Q VLAN Support v1.8
[    2.960000] VFS: Mounted root (squashfs filesystem) readonly on device 31:2.
[    2.960000] Freeing unused kernel memory: 264k freed
[    7.350000] eth0: link up (100Mbps/Full duplex)
[    7.590000] jffs2: notice: (420) jffs2_build_xattr_subsystem: complete building xattr subsystem, 1 of xdatum (0 unchecked, 0 orphan) and 10 of xref (0 dead, 0 orphan) found.
[    7.810000] eth0: link down
[    8.890000] Compat-drivers backport release: compat-drivers-2013-01-21-1
[    8.900000] Backport based on wireless-testing.git master-2013-02-22
[    8.900000] compat.git: wireless-testing.git
[    8.980000] cfg80211: Calling CRDA to update world regulatory domain
[    9.020000] cfg80211: World regulatory domain updated:
[    9.020000] cfg80211:   (start_freq - end_freq @ bandwidth), (max_antenna_gain, max_eirp)
[    9.030000] cfg80211:   (2402000 KHz - 2472000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
[    9.030000] cfg80211:   (2457000 KHz - 2482000 KHz @ 20000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
[    9.040000] cfg80211:   (2474000 KHz - 2494000 KHz @ 20000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
[    9.050000] cfg80211:   (5170000 KHz - 5250000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
[    9.060000] cfg80211:   (5735000 KHz - 5835000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
[    9.270000] NET: Registered protocol family 10
[    9.470000] SCSI subsystem initialized
[    9.700000] usbcore: registered new interface driver usbfs
[    9.700000] usbcore: registered new interface driver hub
[    9.710000] usbcore: registered new device driver usb
>[   10.370000] ath: phy0: Unable to initialize hardware; initialization status: -5
>[   10.370000] ath9k ar933x_wmac: failed to initialize device
>[   10.380000] ath9k: probe of ar933x_wmac failed with error -5
[   10.530000] PPP generic driver version 2.4.2
[   10.680000] ip_tables: (C) 2000-2006 Netfilter Core Team
[   10.910000] NET: Registered protocol family 24
[   11.010000] ehci_hcd: USB 2.0 'Enhanced' Host Controller (EHCI) Driver
[   11.030000] ehci-platform: EHCI generic platform driver
[   11.030000] ehci-platform ehci-platform: EHCI Host Controller
[   11.040000] ehci-platform ehci-platform: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1
[   11.040000] ehci-platform ehci-platform: irq 3, io mem 0x1b000000
[   11.070000] ehci-platform ehci-platform: USB 2.0 started, EHCI 1.00
[   11.070000] hub 1-0:1.0: USB hub found
[   11.070000] hub 1-0:1.0: 1 port detected
[   11.100000] nf_conntrack version 0.5.0 (962 buckets, 3848 max)
[   11.550000] ip6_tables: (C) 2000-2006 Netfilter Core Team
[   11.740000] ohci_hcd: USB 1.1 'Open' Host Controller (OHCI) Driver
[   11.960000] Initializing USB Mass Storage driver...
[   11.970000] usbcore: registered new interface driver usb-storage
[   11.970000] USB Mass Storage support registered.
[   17.400000] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth1: link is not ready
[   17.400000] device eth1 entered promiscuous mode
[   17.410000] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): br-lan: link is not ready
[   17.420000] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
[   18.630000] eth0: link up (100Mbps/Full duplex)
[   18.630000] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth0: link becomes ready
root@OpenWrt:/# 

11 (edited by a1f0x 2013-04-28 12:56:33)

Re: TP-Link TL-WR710N

OK, it was fault in ART module. All you need replace uboot from this archive http://www.tech-blog.pl/pliki/u-boot_sources_for_tp-link_AR9331_by_pepe2k.tar.gz like

*****************************************
*      U-Boot 1.1.4  (Apr 22 2013)      *
*****************************************

AP121 (AR9331) U-Boot for TL-WR703N

DRAM:  64 MB
FLASH: Winbond W25Q64 (8 MB)

LED on during eth initialization...

Hit any key to stop autobooting:  1 0 

uboot> 

uboot> tftpboot 0x80800000 uboot.bin

Link down: eth1
Ethernet mode (duplex/speed): 1/100 Mbps
Using eth0 device
TFTP from server 192.168.1.2; our IP address is 192.168.1.1
Filename 'uboot.bin'.
Load address: 0x80800000
Loading: *#############
done
Bytes transferred: 65536 (0x10000)

uboot> erase 0x9f000000 +0x10000

Erase flash from 0x9F000000 to 0x9F00FFFF in bank #1
Erasing: #
Erased sectors: 1

uboot> cp.b 0x80800000 0x9f000000 0x10000

Copying to flash...
Writting at address: 0x9F000000
Done!

uboot> reset

...and any art config backup like http://blog.chinaunix.net/uid-26082927-id-3053500.html flashed throught httpd recovery mode.

In source: trunk/target/linux/ar71xx/files/arch/mips/ath79/mach-tl-wr720n-v3.c  next lines not need

.....
#define TL_WR720N_GPIO_BTN_SW1          18
#define TL_WR720N_GPIO_BTN_SW2          20
.....
        }, {
                    .desc           = "sw1",
                    .type           = EV_KEY,
                    .code           = BTN_0,
                    .debounce_interval = TL_WR720N_KEYS_DEBOUNCE_INTERVAL,
                    .gpio           = TL_WR720N_GPIO_BTN_SW1,
                    .active_low = 0,
            }, {
                    .desc           = "sw2",
                    .type           = EV_KEY,
                    .code           = BTN_1,
                    .debounce_interval = TL_WR720N_KEYS_DEBOUNCE_INTERVAL,
                    .gpio           = TL_WR720N_GPIO_BTN_SW2,
                    .active_low = 0,

In source: trunk/target/linux/ar71xx/image/Makefile  need change 4Mlzma to 8Mlzma

$(eval $(call SingleProfile,TPLINK-LZMA,$(fs_64kraw),TLWR720NV3,tl-wr720n-v3,TL-WR720N-v3,ttyATH0,115200,0x07200103,1,8Mlzma))

with best regards

Re: TP-Link TL-WR710N

UPDATE: Version sold in Poland (EU) - TL-WR710N v1 has 8MB flash chip and 32MB ram.

http://galeria.tech-blog.pl/TP-Link_TL-WR710N-EU/
http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/tl-wr710n

Would be perfect. i have now lots of WR703n and the WR710n would fit perfectly to my other hardware at home.

Anyone able to confirm WR710n are now available for EU version in 8MB-Flash/32MB-RAM instead of 2MB-Flash/16MB-RAM?

Re: TP-Link TL-WR710N

Good News

Quote from TP-Link Support Germany via e-mail question:

"Der TL-WR710N(EU) 1.0 hat ein Speicher Flash-8MB und 32MB-RAM. Beim Händler müssen Sie diese Modell Nr. suchen TL-WR710(EU) 1.0"

my translation into english:
"The TL-WR710N(EU) 1.0 is having a flash memory with 8MB and 32MB RAM. Ask your vendor fot the TL-WR710(EU) 1.0 model."

Has someone bought already this model and is running openWRT on it?

14 (edited by cave 2013-10-29 09:47:33)

Re: TP-Link TL-WR710N

I received today a TP-Link WR710N(EU) Ver 1.2

flashed istantly a trunk snapshot onto it.
http://downloads.openwrt.org/snapshots/trunk/ar71xx/ openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr710n-v1-squashfs-factory.bin
Firmware Version OpenWrt Barrier Breaker r38541 / LuCI Trunk (svn-r9931)

and seems to work without any problems.

updated wiki http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/tl-wr710n

Re: TP-Link TL-WR710N

Hello guys,
sometime ago I bought a TP-Link TL-WR710N(EU) Ver:1.1
Unfortunately the repeater function I bought it for was not sufficient. It crashed all the time so I decided to flash it (and experiment) with openwrt (from the post here above).

The min requirements for vers.1.1: http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/tl-wr710n
After flashing I had completely no access to the 710n, not with telnet and not with SSH (putty).
Failsave mode works with port Lan/Wan and I have access with telnet to perform:

"mount_root","passwd","mtd -r erase rootfs_data"

After that I can access the Repeater via the second LAN Port with SSH.
Trying to make a rollback from SSH fails:

cd /tmp
wget http://www.example.org/firmware.bin

Can not open file / image comes as error message cause no internetaccess - do I have to set something first?

After disconnecting (plug it out) I have to follow the same procedure get access with SSH.

It seem that something went wrong, or do I missed some steps? I have to add that I am beginner concerning Linux. I want to get that far to configure this Repeater as much as I want.

Re: TP-Link TL-WR710N

When you have access in failsafe with telnet, did you try to just run passwd tho change passwords and then reboot.

I just flashed a wr710n 10min ago and everything worked out of the box.

How is the box connected to internet?

you have no access to the box on WAN port, it is firewalled by default.
On the LAN-Port you should get an ip via dhcp from dnsmasq.

then use telnet to connect to 192.168.1.1 and set a password via passwd, quit telnet, connect via ssh and thre you go.

Re: TP-Link TL-WR710N

Hey. I just got my 710N, EU version 1.1. I tried installing openwrt, openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr710n-v1-squashfs-factory. It appeared unusable after boot so i hooked up the serial port and went for the fail safe, no problems there.
Everything below is done through serial console. After reboot it appears that luci isn't there(i believe it should be?).
I set the fallback interface with static ip from my router and then it is able to download from the internet. I set the lan interface to another net, dhcp enabled. It appears that dhcp doesnt work.
I tried to install LUCI and succeeded, but it doesn't appear to work. Reaching uhttpd start I get the 'no sockets bound' error.
Even with static ip (on pc) from the lan i still cannot get it to work.

Any ideas?

Re: TP-Link TL-WR710N

Hi,
can anyone tell me if it is possible to build a Webradio out of ANY OpenWRT Machine?
Flash, Ram or USB (for Soundcard) restrictions?

http://www.pollin.de/shop/dt/NDYxODgyOT … R710N.html
Is quiet cheep and I will try to get an answer from support if it is the Version V1.1/V1.2 or older with less than 8MB Flash.

I went through:
http://nerd42.de/portal/easybox-803a-goes-openwrt/#tab3
http://www.apm-motionpictures.de/de/wifi-radio
http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/astoria/arv752dpw22

But now I have to send back that Router.
So It would be nice to lock at another small Device fetching my "Radio"-requirements.

Would be nice to get some more links. Even contakt to German people (who allready did) would be very favourable wink

Greatings Oekel

19 (edited by GaryG 2014-01-09 10:02:47)

Re: TP-Link TL-WR710N

cave wrote:

I received today a TP-Link WR710N(EU) Ver 1.2

flashed istantly a trunk snapshot onto it.
http://downloads.openwrt.org/snapshots/trunk/ar71xx/ openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr710n-v1-squashfs-factory.bin
Firmware Version OpenWrt Barrier Breaker r38541 / LuCI Trunk (svn-r9931)

and seems to work without any problems.

updated wiki http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/tl-wr710n

I am completely new to all of this so please go easy on me.  I took a leap of faith and flashed new firmware to my WR710n from the above link.

Seems to have gone ok as i can ping the router and set up a password. Having been through the wiki and docs a few times i am still a bit confused as what to do next.

I tried installing LUCI but it appears I cannot reach the internet so I assume I need to manually edit the network settings?

Anyone got some pointers?

Update: after more research I am trying to setup repeater mode from here. https://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?id=39077

Thanks.

Re: TP-Link TL-WR710N

Hi Guys!

I'm new to the openwrt community, but Im using Openwrt for quite some time. I recently bought a new WR710N here in Austria for 26€, which is quite cheap for this device. It is the WR710N(EU) Ver 1.2 with 8mb flash and 32Mb Ram. I am planning to use this device for one of my embedded projects. It is almost the perfect device because of it's capabilities and it is cheap. There is just one drawback: The internal 230V power supply. I cannot use if i want to power it from a battery.

So I did some modifications, which makes the WR710N also cabable for the use with a 5V power supply. Here are the results:
http://imgur.com/PMqomQ8

I just soldered two wires directly under the first capacitor after the output of the 230V power supply (bottom right in the picture) It is named C207. With this small modification it can be powered directly from a 5V power supply. The other two wires are soldered for the serial connection.

Is this worth an entry in the wiki page?

PS: I also want to examine some usable GPIOs, I will post my results here.

Re: TP-Link TL-WR710N

franz.flasch wrote:

I recently bought a new WR710N here in Austria for 26€
[...]
There is just one drawback: The internal 230V power supply. I cannot use if i want to power it from a battery.
So I did some modifications....

Why do you not directly use the +5€ TP-LINK TL-MR3020?
It does come allready without any Trafo.
http://www.pollin.de/shop/dt/MTUxODgyOT … R3020.html

Re: TP-Link TL-WR710N

Oekel wrote:
franz.flasch wrote:

I recently bought a new WR710N here in Austria for 26€
[...]
There is just one drawback: The internal 230V power supply. I cannot use if i want to power it from a battery.
So I did some modifications....

Why do you not directly use the +5€ TP-LINK TL-MR3020?
It does come allready without any Trafo.
http://www.pollin.de/shop/dt/MTUxODgyOT … R3020.html

Because of the +5€. Furthermore the MR3020 only has 4mb flash. I already have a MR3020 here. But I am trying to find the cheapest device which I can use for my embedded projects (USB required) and which is also able to run openwrt. The WR710N is the best I could find at the moment, however if someone knows a cheaper device which fits my requirements ... I'm open to other suggestions, though.

Just for info: The MR3020 costs 35€ + at the local stores here..

Regards,
Franz

Re: TP-Link TL-WR710N

Does anyone know if the TL-WR710N supports VLAN? The bootloader suggests it is loaded but I've had no luck.

Re: TP-Link TL-WR710N

a1f0x wrote:

OK, it was fault in ART module. All you need replace uboot from this archive http://www.tech-blog.pl/pliki/u-boot_sources_for_tp-link_AR9331_by_pepe2k.tar.gz like

*****************************************
*      U-Boot 1.1.4  (Apr 22 2013)      *
*****************************************

AP121 (AR9331) U-Boot for TL-WR703N

DRAM:  64 MB
FLASH: Winbond W25Q64 (8 MB)

LED on during eth initialization...

Hit any key to stop autobooting:  1 0 

uboot> 

uboot> tftpboot 0x80800000 uboot.bin

Link down: eth1
Ethernet mode (duplex/speed): 1/100 Mbps
Using eth0 device
TFTP from server 192.168.1.2; our IP address is 192.168.1.1
Filename 'uboot.bin'.
Load address: 0x80800000
Loading: *#############
done
Bytes transferred: 65536 (0x10000)

uboot> erase 0x9f000000 +0x10000

Erase flash from 0x9F000000 to 0x9F00FFFF in bank #1
Erasing: #
Erased sectors: 1

uboot> cp.b 0x80800000 0x9f000000 0x10000

Copying to flash...
Writting at address: 0x9F000000
Done!

uboot> reset

...and any art config backup like http://blog.chinaunix.net/uid-26082927-id-3053500.html flashed throught httpd recovery mode.

In source: trunk/target/linux/ar71xx/files/arch/mips/ath79/mach-tl-wr720n-v3.c  next lines not need

.....
#define TL_WR720N_GPIO_BTN_SW1          18
#define TL_WR720N_GPIO_BTN_SW2          20
.....
        }, {
                    .desc           = "sw1",
                    .type           = EV_KEY,
                    .code           = BTN_0,
                    .debounce_interval = TL_WR720N_KEYS_DEBOUNCE_INTERVAL,
                    .gpio           = TL_WR720N_GPIO_BTN_SW1,
                    .active_low = 0,
            }, {
                    .desc           = "sw2",
                    .type           = EV_KEY,
                    .code           = BTN_1,
                    .debounce_interval = TL_WR720N_KEYS_DEBOUNCE_INTERVAL,
                    .gpio           = TL_WR720N_GPIO_BTN_SW2,
                    .active_low = 0,

In source: trunk/target/linux/ar71xx/image/Makefile  need change 4Mlzma to 8Mlzma

$(eval $(call SingleProfile,TPLINK-LZMA,$(fs_64kraw),TLWR720NV3,tl-wr720n-v3,TL-WR720N-v3,ttyATH0,115200,0x07200103,1,8Mlzma))

with best regards

Hi a1f0x

First of all, I know nothing about OpenWRT and I tried to use it for my other project.
I managed to flash firmware that you used earler and am having same problem, no wifi avaialble. So I try to flash other firmware that you use in this post.
Unfortunately, I don't know where to start.
In my seriral window, it show root@OpenWrt:/#
It did not show uboot> as stated in your post.
How can I get there? Sorry if I ask stupit question because it may be very easy for others.
I appreciate all people advice how to do step by step.

Thanks
wnat