OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: How to go from OpenWRT to DD-WRT (or stock) on WZR-HP-G300NH?

The content of this topic has been archived on 31 Mar 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

Hi guys,

I went from stock to dd-wrt to openwrt, but lately my wifi has been crashing a lot. So I'd like to go back to DD-WRT but I'm really afraid of bricking my router.

Can I just use the mtd linux command on the wiki? Because the DD-WRT image file isn't a .trx but a .bin. Do I have to strip the header and then rename to .trx? Do I need to use tftp?

Not sure what to do here and I have read documentation but it is a bit lacking in detail. I've never used TFTP before so if that's necessary, I'd greatly appreciate some clear detailed instructions on how to do so.

Thanks!

UberB wrote:

I went from stock to dd-wrt to openwrt, ...

I am just curious and would appreciate if you can provide information on how did you flash your router from DD-WRT to OpenWRT. Currently, I have an old Linksys WRT54GS v3.1 flashed with DD-WRT Mega firmware and am would like to flash it with a self-built OpenWRT firmware. Since you had done that, it will be easier just to ask how you did it. Thanks.

mazilo wrote:
UberB wrote:

I am just curious and would appreciate if you can provide information on how did you flash your router from DD-WRT to OpenWRT. Currently, I have an old Linksys WRT54GS v3.1 flashed with DD-WRT Mega firmware and am would like to flash it with a self-built OpenWRT firmware. Since you had done that, it will be easier just to ask how you did it. Thanks.

Check the instructions under the WZR-HP-G300NH wiki; I followed them to the letter. Basically you just use SSH and mtd linux.

OK i can give it a try but how would I flash it? I can just use the GUI for this one right? I assume I use the sysupgrade file.