OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: Can't ping router

The content of this topic has been archived on 30 Mar 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

OK, I've looked all over the place and can't find a solution. I am fairly new to this.

I have a WRT54GS and I had the squashfs version on it. It seemed to be working and I was trying to configure it to communicate with another router on my network.

During a reconfigure, where I think the only thing I had changed was on the LAN interface page, allowing it to bridge across connections, the configure never returned. It like when happens when you change the IP address, although as far as I am aware I had not changed the IP address.

And that was the last time I could contact it, I was using the LAN address 192.168.1.10 and a WAN address of 192.168.1.2. I have tried resetting it by pressing the  reset button on startup as soon as the DMZ LED lights, but it never goes to the point where the DMZ light flashes 3 times a second. It just goes off.

I have tried numerous other things, holding reset for 30 seconds and then rebooting, and even the 30-30-30 reset, but each time it produces no effect. I can't ping 192.168.1.10 or 192.168.1.1 (which I was kinda hoping to reset to) I have tried with a DHCP address and a static address on my laptop (192.168.1.2 and 192.168.1.11)

I understand that I have probably caused more problems trying to fix the original issue, but what can I do? I fear I have bricked it, but I am not 100% convinced. The power light is solid after it is finished rebooting (flashes a lot during boot) and the lights on the front react to connections on the back (ie, when I connect a cable to a port on the back, and then to my laptop, the corresponding LED lights up)

I had a theory that I might have inadvertently changed the IP address with a stray cursor whilst configuring, but if that was the case would I still not be able to ping the WAN side?