OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: How to cross-compile a program for openwrt router?

The content of this topic has been archived on 11 Apr 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

Hi,

I wanted to compile a program for my openwrt router from source i already have but to add an option.

I ran ./autogen.sh in the terminal but it returned aclocal not found.

Please guide me through this as i am new to the programming world

Thx in advance !

is it a single program or a package ?
does it depend on too many things ?

you can build a make file for it .
you can also try directly compiling  if you have a toolchain ready and your program is simple to compile.

what package are you trying to compile ?

Hi,

I am trying to recompile rtorrent and libtorrent with gcc 4.3.3 since the one in the openwrt trunk wasn't working. Others say it's because the gcc used is old. I got the source of the package from openwrt as well. I use ubuntu 10.10 and where so i get the tool chain? what is it used for??

Thx

Hi,

its not so easy, there is no complete and up-to-date guide anywhere. I went through the process of picking up all the required info from serveral wiki pages, blog posts, forums entries, and trying around a little by myself. I created a little guide for myself, so next time I need to do it, it is not so much work anymore. This is for backfire (current release of openwrt). This is my guide:

HOWTO create a simple c/c++ executable for openwrt backfire:

1. set up development environment:

sudo apt-get install subversion gcc g++ libncurses5-dev zlib1g-dev gawk flex patch
cd
svn co svn://svn.openwrt.org/openwrt/branches/backfire
cd backfire
scripts/feeds update
scripts/feeds install uclibcxx
# here, you can also install other packages that are in the repository, using scripts/feeds install xyz. You can find packages with scripts/feed list | grep xyz
make menuconfig
# select "target system" (in my case: atheros ar71xx)