OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: generate .trx file for reflashing

The content of this topic has been archived on 30 Apr 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

Dear friends
    I am a beginner and i am facing some problem in reflashing my bullet2 device .
I have read in some of the readme.txt that we should have .trx file to reflash from the bullet itself.
(http://downloads.openwrt.org/whiterussian/rc5/00-README)
But could you please help me telling how to generate the .trx file.

I am using OpenWrt Backfire 10.03 and i have compiled and made the binary file "openwrt-atheros-ubnt2-squashfs.bin".
I have loaded it using tftp and it is working fine.
But i don't know how to get the .trx file for reflashing.

Since our bullets will be on the roof-tops, i have to remotely reflash it.

Could you please help me in this.

Thanks
Johns

(Last edited by johnsgeorge on 5 Oct 2010, 12:22)

I dont have an exact answer for you but I think you should start reading the difference between trx and bin
https://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?id=12248 is just one of the threads
in one line short the bin file has a header of 32 bytes while compared to a trx.
you can usually convert a bin to trx by stripping off the header which I just talked about

Dear mohnkhan
  I have tried the command "hexdump -C openwrt-atheros-ubnt2-squashfs.bin  | grep HDR0". But it couldn't find HDR0 in the file. Can you please suggest some alternative.

well that was just an example.

dd if=firmware.bin of=firmware.trx bs=32 skip=1

is one trick to get the first 32 skipped.
A .trx file is simply a firmware image in "raw" format with no
extraneous vendor-specific wrapper info

for your particular platform you need to check if its supported by kamikaze or backfire (better the latest one).
the above command should work.
for older versions it used to be like this

mtd -r write filename.trx linux

thats what I can recall from the back of my brain.