OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: 3G / EVDO AT&T or Verizon USB support

The content of this topic has been archived on 21 Apr 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

Has anyone had any luck getting a USB 3G modem working on a Ubiquiti RouterStation? I have most of it working now but get an error "Cannot load PIN number" .  Could anyone tell me how to tell which tty port the usb modem is using, I could test some AT commands maybe? Obviously I am a novice at openwrt, I have managed to get two 5.8GHZ and one 2.4GHZ radios working and loaded X-wrt. Any help to get me started in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

Which USB modem is it?

Usually the port is /dev/ttyUSB0

I assume you're using comgt? Can you post your /etc/config/network uci configuration?

Thanks.

Thanks for the Reply and help.
1) It does seem to be on port dev/ttyUSB0 "I tried to use minicom to talk to it and it at least finds it but locks up initializing"

2) Yes I'm using comgt, and I have connected a flash drive to the USB port and used Samba and it works great.

3)The modem type is a Option Globetrotter Icon322 using AT&T 3G

4)
config 'interface' 'loopback'
    option 'ifname' 'lo'
    option 'proto' 'static'
    option 'ipaddr' '127.0.0.1'
    option 'netmask' '255.0.0.0'

config 'interface' 'lan'
    option 'ifname' 'eth0 eth1'
    option 'netmask' '255.255.255.0'
    option 'dns' '192.168.1.254'
    option 'gateway' '192.168.1.254'
    option 'macaddr' ''
    option 'type' 'bridge'
    option 'proto' 'static'
    option 'ipaddr' '192.168.1.20'
    option 'ip6addr' '192.168.1.20'
    option 'ip6gw' '192.168.1.254'

WAN configuration
config 'interface' 'wan'   
        option 'ifname' 'ppp0'
        option 'device' '/dev/ttyUSB0
        option 'proto' '3g'
        option 'macaddr' ''
        option 'peerdns' 0           
        option 'pincode' ''
        option 'service' 'umts_only'
        option 'country' 'us'