Zyxel NBG6817 dual boot questions from a newbie

Greetings! This is my first post here. I have been a casual linux use for about 20 years, so I am familiar with the command line. Although I am certainly no expert. But I am new to OpenWrt. I have a Zyxel NBG6817. I have read the wiki for that unit and done a lot of research in the forum and elsewhere on the web. I understand that it has a dual boot feature and that the luci-app-advanced-reboot has been successfully implemented in the current stable release, which I have. So I will be able to boot to the alternate partition from OpenWrt. I understand that I can do the opposite by using the 3 successive boot attempts trick. It would be nice, since this is a dual booting machine, if I could maintain both the OEM firmware and the OpenWrt firmware in their respective partitions. That is my goal. But I am unclear about the upgrade procedures for dual booting machines. The way I understand it is to use the appropriate sysupgrade.bin file to upgrade the device.
But since this machine always flashes to the alternate partition, if I want to upgrade the OEM firmware, should I go to the OpenWrt partition and flash the OEM firmware from there so that it will flash to the OEM partition? Is that even possible, or does the OEM firmware need to be flashed from a currently running OEM partition that already has a previous version of the OEM firmware on it?
And when I upgrade the OpenWrt firmware, should I boot into the OEM partition and upgrade OpenWrt from there? And if I did that, would I still use the sysupgrade.bin, or should I use the new stable factory.bin, as if I were flashing a completely new install.
I know that a newer version of OpenWrt has not been released yet, but I'm just trying to plan ahead. Thanks in advance for any help understanding this.

1 Like

What is the purpose behind this request?