I thought I had everything all set, backed up my setup and during the night, it lost all setting and reverted to original, no password etc
When you say it reverted to original, do you mean the original OpenWrt configuration, or the original firmware?
It went back to the original condition in open work before any settings were set. Ie exactly what you would see if you just installed the firmware
Try to flash OpenWrt again.