WRT3200ACM - Load Balancing w/ TMo Home Internet & AT&T MR110 - Possible Channel Bonding

Here we go....

I have a Linksys WRT3200ACM that is Load Balancing between TMo Home Internet & Netgear's MR1100. I'm fairly new to OpenWRT.

I'd like some opinions. Will include screen shots of setup.

My interfaces include:
WAN
WAN6
WANB6

LAN 1 was repurposed to WAN B.

Setup works fairly well but I do have a few questions:

1. Is there any value in building a Channel Bonding Router out of an older PC?

2. Can someone explain why - at times - so my speeds shoot through the roof on Speedtest.net? I know load balancing doesn't combine speeds but my speeds go from 70-80 mbps to 150mbps when connected to the lid balanced network?

3. Seems like ping increases from AT&T and decreases TMo ping. Upload speed increases through load balanced network. Is this due to traffic going through "better" network?

Uploading: 9ACF4D64-C5AE-4F92-BA97-F3FA8C75492F.jpeg...

1. That merely depends on your (aggregate-) WAN speeds and the abilities of your router (the wrt3200acm is at the faster end), it just needs to be 'fast enough' to cope with your WAN speed(s). There is no philosophical difference between a router or a PC, both can do the same (within their abilities, in terms of CPU performance, I/O performance, number of ports, wireless, etc.).
  2. perhaps your ISP's bandwidth limiter has non-constant effects.
  3. probably, don't underestimate the highly volatile nature of wireless networks (both in terms of raw throughput and ping times)