WRT1900AC V1 - Flashing correct version but no access

Hi you smart people!
Complete newb here so sorry for idiocy.

I just got a linksys WRT1900AC V1 and want to put openWRT onto it so i can have VPN on all my network (because tracking).
Anyways, i connected to the Linksys interface (192.168.1.1) updated to latest linksys firmware and proceeded to try and flash the openwrt-18.06.1-mvebu-cortexa9-linksys-wrt1900ac-squashfs-factory.img downloaded at http://downloads.openwrt.org/releases/18.06.1/targets/mvebu/cortexa9/openwrt-18.06.1-mvebu-cortexa9-linksys-wrt1900ac-squashfs-factory.img
when i try and flash it, it proceeds and seems to have worked. However, i loose all internet connection and after this i just cant connect to 192.168.1.1 and setup openWRT. I have tried downloading the image several times and flashing it again and again but i keep getting the same result.
What am i doing wrong?

• Anders

How can you flash anything if you do not have any access to the device? I think there is something I did not understand in your post.

i have access, until i flash. After the flash i loose all connection until i reset the device again.

Do you get IP and the rest settings from DHCP after the successful flashing of the openwrt image?
Does ping or ssh work on 192.168.1.1 ?

Are you saying that upon reboot/reset - the OEM firmware is still there?

Try a different image such as snapshot (no gui so you will have to ssh). If it still does not take it sounds like HW and you will probably need a ttl-serial connection to get a handle on what is happening.

upon switching to the 2nd firmware yes. Not just a standard "hold reset for 10 sec". But the Linksys WRT1900AC have 2 firmwares that you can switch between.

1 Like

nope, ping does not work at all after flashing. Neither does SSH.

From what I read in the instructions the migration to Openwrt is quite trivial.
Have you verified the integrity of the image you downloaded with sha256sum application?

1 Like