Wrong IP detected by pppoe?

Hi all!

First of all let me introduce myself: I am an IT professional from Italy and I just installed LEDE on my TP-LINK TL-WR1043ND v1.8, because I was worried about the security of the original firmware, given its age (last update is from 2014).

I am very happy with LEDE and I've been able to configure everything quite easily, until now.

I installed the DDNS package to be able to update my no-ip ddns account. However, I noticed (by reading the logs) that the update script wasn't able to do its job. Looking better I realized that the update script was sending an incorrect address.
At first I thought it was a problem in the update script itself, but later I saw that it was actually the address reported by the pppoe-wan interface.

I fixed the ddns problem quite easily by configuring it to get the address by using an external URL, but the original problem remains: why is the pppoe-wan interface reporting that address in the first place?

Here is a screenshot:

As you can see, it says my WAN address is 100.114.159.210, which is wrong (and it is a reserved address, too).

What's wrong here? Or am I reading that report in the wrong way?

My LEDE version is LEDE Reboot 17.01.2 r3435-65eec8bd5f.

Thank you in advance!!
Cris

I am afraid that IP address is not wrong. You happen to be connected to a shitty ISP who uses carrier-grade NAT, and that is the real IP you are getting. When you check it using an external server, you obviously get the IP address of your gateway, but that is not your real IP address.

3 Likes

Thank you @eduperez for your reply.
This would be a pity. I'm not completely convinced BTW, since my previous (original) firmware was correctly detecting the external IP address.
I'll try to get some more information from my ISP site and/or support forums.

Thanks!
Cris

Your previous firmware probably did the external-server-trick, and thus obtained the wrong IP address.