WPA2-PSK authorization with RADIUS server, is it possible?

Hello everyone! Recently I've started to experience some issues with my WIFI security. I've been using standard WPA2-Personal authorization method in my home network, but, apparently it's been compromised. I've started to see random clients that I don't recognize. So I've decided to set up a radius server on a raspberry PI that is connected to one of the LAN ports. Since I'm not an expert in networking and Linux in particular, It took quite some time to configure and make it work. But now I'm having another issue how to connect all the devices, that don't support 802.1x authorization, such as TV's, smart thermostat and so on.What would be the best way to implement WPA2-PSK while keeping radius server on the network? Any suggestion would be appreciated.

Set up an additional PSK AP interface for your IoT devices. Also a good idea to have an IoT network that is completely isolated from your LAN. WPA2-PSK is still considered secure with a good password (not in dictionary attacks).

2 Likes

In addition, Generate a good password by computer. I use keepass2, for example.

1 Like

@mk24 is spot on -- I consider all my IoT devices to be "hostile" (even to each other) and segregate them into VLANs by manufacturer. I also have always considered wireless to be insecure and keep it segregated from my "sensitive" wired networks. WPA2 is "reasonably" secure, but I also have always considered it the responsibility of the client/server to encrypt any sensitive communication.