Wish to use 2013 Intel NUC with i3 processor and dead SSD as access point

Greetings,

The SSD died so I bought this wifi card hoping I could use the NUC to provide better wifi in my living space. I've put a bit of time into trying to get openwrt, opnsense, and alpine linux to make a wifi access point out of the 2013 Intel NUC.

Is there a simple way to make this NUC behave as an access point? I am not a software engineer or networking genius. The wifi from the landlord downstairs is too weak to function well so they provided the ethernet connection. I feel that buying a wifi router should not be necessary just for my own personal use. Low phone signal up here too means that calls are generally through wifi from the phone and this is also very problematic due to low signal.

Typically, routers will provide some kind of default ssid and password that would allow the user to get online and configure the unit. It seems that none of these operating systems I've tried do that. But this wifi card is working readily with all the linux and bsd operating systems I have tried on it.

Welcoming advice. :slight_smile:

Thank you.

What exactly is the model of the NUC?
Without the model of the NUC I can't even say if it even has an ethernet port ( https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us/en/ark/products/71274/intel-nuc-kit-dc3217by.html for example lacks ethernet port.)

OpenWRT (and others designed to convert an x86 pc into a router) kinda assume 2 ethernet ports, one being the WAN and the other one the LAN.
If you have 1 single ethernet port OpenWRT will assume that's the LAN port (because you are supposed to configure it and with 1 single ethernet port if you have it set as WAN you just can't configure it; wireless is disabled by default).