Wireguard VPN - which hardware should I use?

Hi guys,
I'm new to OpenWrt but not to Linux.
I'm using a hosted KVM Server with Wireguard and looking for an OpenWrt hardware (to use with Wireguard) to connect my home network to this Wireguard VPN. The OpenWrt router should be connected over LAN to my cable router from my ISP. I want to connect all of my devices via WiFi to the OpenWrt router an route all the traffic trough wirteguard to my KVM Server.

Which hardware do you guys recommend? I don't need the best of the best routers. I just want to have a good wireguard connections. Nothing else.

Greetings!

What is your definition of "fast"?

I changed my original post and removed the "fast". Because I don't have any arguments for that point :slight_smile:

Hi. You have probably asked too vague a question. The forum users generally don't want to spoon feed new users. They are very keen for you to search the forum yourself. I suggest you check on Ebay and search for openwrt router and buy a very cheap used one to try first. This will give you some experience openwrt and you will then be in a better situation to know what you need. Personally I started with a used BT home hub 5a and had to solder wires to the serial points. But that was what I wanted to do for the challenge. Wireguard runs well enough to watch HD TV from >1000 miles away. Good luck :smiley:

Removing the word "fast" doesn't really remove the question itself. "hosted KVM Server" kind of implies at least 100 MBit/s internet connectivity on the server side, maybe even up to 1 GBit/s, but it leaves open the question of your home (or mobile-) WAN speed - and the rough throughput you expect from your VPN gateway.