Wireguard setup: no routing / DNS?

This is one to add to the pile, probably. I'm new to Wireguard (and the whole VPN thing altogether). What I would like to achieve seems pretty simple, but at the moment it's very elusive: access to my LAN with a remote client.

I have set up a Wireguard server on my OpenWrt router, and configured my Android client with the Wireguard app. The LAN is a 10.0.0.x subnet, with a very limited DHCP range (.30-.60). Wireguard interface gets a high IP outside that scope so there shouldn't be any collisions afaik.

I have 'backported' the latest Wireguard commits from master to 18.06, but it all compiled fine, and the connection gets established, so I do not think this is an issue, but I am mentioning it just in case.

The intention is for the remote client to have access to the whole LAN, so from what I gathered putting the whole subnet in allowed_ips is OK?

Server configuration - /etc/config/network:

config interface 'wg0'
	option proto 'wireguard'
	option private_key 'xxxx'
	option listen_port '8192'
	list addresses '10.0.0.248/29'

config wireguard_wg0
	option public_key 'xxxx'
	option persistent_keepalive '25'
	list allowed_ips '10.0.0.0/24'

/etc/config/firewall looks OK as well:

config rule
	option src '*'
	option target 'ACCEPT'
	option proto 'udp'
	option dest_port '8192'
	option name 'Allow-Wireguard-Inbound'

The wireguard server seems to come up correctly and a connection gets established:

# wg
interface: wg0
  public key: xxxx
  private key: (hidden)
  listening port: 8192

peer: xxxx
  endpoint: 199.199.1xx.xxx:42268
  allowed ips: 10.0.0.0/24
  latest handshake: 36 seconds ago
  transfer: 130.29 KiB received, 53.94 KiB sent
  persistent keepalive: every 25 seconds

What I found out:

• I can ping the router's LAN IP (10.0.0.1) from my smartphone (10.0.0.250) and vice versa.
  • Pinging any other LAN client from my smartphone does not work.
  • Pinging a remote IP from the smartphone (e.g. 8.8.8.8) does work.