Which Router to buy for mesh, VPN and webstorage?

I'm looking for a well wrt supported router with mesh, VPN and webstorage ability.
To integrate a NAS is not possible I guess, am I right?

Budget is not that relevant, but I'm not a coder so it must be configurable over a UI (well, simple scripts and command line I can handle)

Does anyone has a suggestion?

Please be more precise: What is the maximum your are willing to pay?

1 Like

How fast do you want the VPN to be? What technology are you using, OpenVPN, WireGuard, something else?

What is driving you to put the conflicting goals of security (VPN, firewall) with file sharing and a web server on the same box, one that is directly exposed to the Internet?

With no budget, you should have at least two or three devices (firewall, VPN, containerized web and file sharing), a managed switch, and a wireless AP.. None except the last are an all-in-one router.

(Edit: Marvell wireless drivers don't support 802.11s mesh, at least last I checked. Three-radio devices have advantages for mesh when wanting more than about 1/3 of the channel bandwidth.)

2 Likes

VPN: is for private use, it doesn't have to be that fast (no streaming for example).

"Conflicting goals": I try to avoid several devices that use energy. For sensitive data I use my personal nextcloud on webspace. If I could put music/video on the webstorage of the router I'd be happy.

I guess for a good router 80-150$ should be enough.

On the other hand I pay for webspace every month some $. I'd even pay for the service, that someone establishs and maybe even sometimes maintains my NAS with email, nextcloud, wordpress, phpbb. But I think I keep that better on the webspace which is not much work, not that expensive and even more reliable than at home.