When the upgrade fails, inform the user

it would be nice if there is a big fat warning after logging in like "Unable to upgrade. Error xyz".

echo "BIG RED WARNING" > /etc/banner
auc -n -y

i assume you missed the title.
It would be nice if there is a big fat warning when the upgrade failed and the system rebooted without upgrading so the user knows that there was no successful upgrade.

also, "auc" is not a command my openwrt installation knows.

auc command is sysupgrade on steroids.
i just set a BIG RED WARNING into default login banner, if upgrade succeeds it puts new default banner in place, if it fails the BIG RED WARNING remains there.
I am no expert in terminal artworks.

ah ok, but when i use the web ui (luci) i have no such option. i dont use command line to perform the upgrade, i use luci.
when it succeeds, are you absolutely sure the banner is overwritten? i would assume it keeps the configuration (including the banner).
also, the banner is not shown in luci, right? i mean login to luci, not login to ssh.

I dont insist you try to see.....
For luci you need to change javascripts to show some flag.

thats the logical consequence, yeah. maybe by creating a file in ~./upgrade_failed or so and show that in the frontend if it exists.

Upgrades are relatively infrequent, and performed by the user. With that in mind, is there any reason that simply looking at the version number is not sufficient? In the case of any stable release build, it's pretty easy... like 23.05.2 > 23.05.3, and you should know what you just downloaded for installation. Admittedly, if you're working with snapshots, it's less obvious, but just look at the last few digits before the upgrade and compare what you see after.

Yes, it's overwritten by default as the banner contains the current version. The exception is if you add the banner file to the /etc/sysupgrade.conf configuration to save it.

1 Like

if it fails, kill uhttpd ?

2 Likes