What is the second step I should do to protect the network?

Hello, This is my first time to use openwrt, I've successfully installed it on my router Archer C7 AC1750 v5 and everything worked perfectly. My question is what is the second step I should do to protect the network?

from what ?
most of the threats out there, go for the clients behind the router, not the router itself.

if you want to be 100% safe, disconnect it from internet ...

Sorry, I use a translator because English is not my language. What I meant, are there steps that I should take to strengthen the network protection? For example something else for the firewall?

Well the most common treat today is probably botnets living in routers and IoT doing global mega huge DDoS attack bigger than every attack ever done in the past since more and more routers and IoT join in to the party every day.

1 Like

Have you looked at the hardening device instruction in the user manual on openwrt.org?

But you could at least start with a password to the router as second step.

1 Like

the firewall is fine as it is, what worries you, specifically ?

1 Like

The firewall is already quite robust for normal home/small office use. You typically don't need to modify it unless you have a specific threat you're trying to address.

Everything else depends on your goals/concerns... do you have lots of IoT devices? how much do you trust those devices to be up to date on security and not doing shady things? What about other users on your network -- do you trust the users and their devices? You can consider those things -- sometimes making dedicated networks (VLANs) can be good if you want to protect certain types of devices from others... but again, depends on what your concerns are.

2 Likes

Yes, I followed most of the threads there.

Thanks so much for your reply. I just use it for home network nothing shady. The reason I use openwrt is I am looking for privacy for me and my family.

Nothing I thought i have to do something.