What is the Relationship Among Different Versions of Softwares?

Hi, Colleagues:

1. I am a beginner looking into a router with OpenWrt support to do some experiments. I am puzzled with the relationships among the different versions of software loaded in the hardware product, the file downloadable from the vendor and that available from OpenWrt.

2. When I spoke with vendor's chat operators, they told me that their products are loaded with their proprietary software. But, the firmware (BIOS?) in the product is ready to accept OpenWrt software. It seemed to make sense.

3. However, when I get to their software download area, it seems to say what is the hardware is already a copy or close-derivative from OpenWrt. For example, below is a description just above a list of files available for download to one of TP-Link's routers.

" GPL Code Center
Please note: The products of TP-LINK partly contain software code developed by third parties, including software code subject to the GNU General Public Licence (“GPL“), Version 1/Version 2/Version 3 or GNU Lesser General Public License("LGPL"). You may use the respective software condition to following the GPL licence terms."

Of course, The word "partly" is tricky. What percentage does this refer to? To what degree of TP-Link's modifications that still deems the end software public? Could anyone guide me to a definition? If what the vendor puts into their hardware is still a public software, then the download from the vendor' website would be a public version for backing up the product. Why do we have another parallel version offered from OpenWrt?